Beeping noise - new PC. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2006, 10:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
manowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 191
Default Beeping noise - new PC.

Hi guys,

After ordering and receiving all my new components for my new PC, I decided today to start building it.

The only thing which my new PC is currently lacking is RAM. All other components have been inserted into the case. However, I tried turning it on when I had put evertyhing today, and I get a strange sequence of beep codes, in the form of 1 long and 2 short beeps.

The mobo is the Asus P5N32-SLI Premium mobo. Intel Core 2 Duo 2.40Ghz CPU and the Geforce 8800 GTS.

Now, according to AwardBIOS, the beep stands for failed graphics/video cards. However, I cannot seem to see anything wrong with the way the card has been placed in the PC. I've put it in the top Blue 16x PCI-E slot and I've connected one of the PCI-E connectors from the PSU to the graphics card.

The only thing I can think of is the absence of RAM. Do you guys have any advice?

Thanks.
__________________

manowar is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 11:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

your PC won't run without RAM, if that's what you're trying to do, that's your problem.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 11:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default

My advice would be to get ALL the parts b4 turning on ur machine.
ECTech is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 11:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
manowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 191
Default

Haha, I see where you're coming from, guys. I wasn't actually expecting the PC to run without the RAM! I just wanted to see if it would fire up, so to speak.

So you reckon its definately because theres no RAM that I'm getting the strange 1 long beep followed by 2 short beeps?
manowar is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 11:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default

Most likely yes. The only other thing that comes to mind would be, setting the option in the BIOS for 1 graphics card instead of 2 (SLI)
ECTech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.