Battlefield computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2006, 08:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 149
Default Battlefield computer

After i built my computer, my uncle had been wanting me to build him one. He says that his computer nowadays can hardly play anything so its time to upgrade. The game he mainly wants to play is Battlefield 2. Can anyone reccoment a decent computer for playing bf2 on mid setting with no lagging? It does not have to be a monster computer though. It is budget. The reason that i am asking here is because i do know much about bf2 and its requirements because i do not play the game myself.

If anyone can give me a few reccomendations for this type of computer . Thanks for your help.
__________________

noxarcana is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 10:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

My comp (in my sig) plays BF2 on med/high settings without lag. You can buy and build better without breaking the bank (now, not when it was built, though).

With BF2, make sure not to short-change the RAM. BF2 likes RAM, and a lot of it. Be sure to go with 2 gig.

If this rig is mainly going to be for BF2, go with the Ammo case:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119098

For graphics, check out the 7900GS:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130056
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 05:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

I runs BF2 on medium and get 40+ FPS. Just look at my sig for specs
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 11:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602
Default

lol i wish i could play bf2 without lag with my spec but apparently not..lol
keyser09 is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 02:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

Huh. You would get over 100Fps... 2gb ram, X2 4800+, 7950 GX2
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.