BAsic RAM question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2006, 01:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
mps
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 44
Send a message via ICQ to mps Send a message via AIM to mps Send a message via Yahoo to mps
Default Basic RAM questions

Hi I'm new here and using a username that I'd rather not, someone took my normal one, and it's one that I havn't seen pop up recently.

Ok, back on to the subject I'm building a computer and I want to know if I can use DDR2 ram in DDR slots. I've asked my dad (admin @ his workplace) and he said that he can't remember, he's mostly been doing software stuff.

I've also asked my friend about it and he didn't know and mentioned that it can get dicy when it comes to ram.

Here's the spreadsheet that I have made, All of the prices are from Tiger Direct.

http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3731426

I would like to get this ordered very soon because the prices are after the rebate...

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
|T|O|O|-|L|A|Z|Y| -my anti-drug-

www.Theopia.com is a great place for off topic discussion, I\'f you\'re into this kind of stuff you should check it out.
mps is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 01:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

DDR2 won't fit in DDR slot's,It's a totally different pin setup.
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 02:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
mps
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 44
Send a message via ICQ to mps Send a message via AIM to mps Send a message via Yahoo to mps
Default

Ok, so is there a good set of 512mb ram that is about the same cost at the set that I have on the spread sheet? I don't want to spent much more than $110 on 1G of ram right now.

Or should I go with a different motherboard bundle pack?

Again I want to keep the prices about the same.

I'd also like to stay with AMD.

And I'd like to get this order in ASAP.
__________________
|T|O|O|-|L|A|Z|Y| -my anti-drug-

www.Theopia.com is a great place for off topic discussion, I\'f you\'re into this kind of stuff you should check it out.
mps is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 05:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
mps
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 44
Send a message via ICQ to mps Send a message via AIM to mps Send a message via Yahoo to mps
Default

Ok I know double posting is frowned upon but this post is more indepth than my previous one.

I've looked at more ram and I've come up with these three:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...78022&CatId=839
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...76571&CatId=839
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...10807&CatId=839

Which should I get? What is the difference between them other than the heat spreader on the one?
__________________
|T|O|O|-|L|A|Z|Y| -my anti-drug-

www.Theopia.com is a great place for off topic discussion, I\'f you\'re into this kind of stuff you should check it out.
mps is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.