basic game rig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2007, 05:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 118
Default basic game rig

Thermaltake Tsunami Case

Intel Pentium D 925 Socket 775, 2x3.0 GHz, 2MB x 2 Cache

Gigabyte GA 965GM-S2 iG965, S775, PCI-E (x16), DDR2 533/667/800, SATA II, SATA RAID, uATX, VGA

256MB Palit 7600GS Sonic PCI-E(x16) Mem 1000MHz GPU 450MHz 12Pipes D-Sub/Dual Link DVI/S-Video Fan

485W Enermax Noisetaker EG495AX-VE-W-SFMA with PCI-E aPFC Quiet

160 Gb Western Digital WD1600YS Caviar RE, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 16MB Cache, 8.9 ms, NCQ

LG GSA-H22NSBB Silver 18x DVD+/-RW/RAM bare inc Burning software

1Gb Corsair XMS2, DDR2 PC5400 (667), 240 Pin, Non-ECC Unbuffered, CAS 4-4-4-12

wondering if its okay or not and if its compatible, not sure if the mobo will fit in the case as some sites say its an ATX only where as others say its also microATX

oh and last thing, is it worth gettin a pentium 4 dual core cause its bout the same price anyway?
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v179/infernicus/infernicus_signature_5-1.jpg>
Infernicus is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 05:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 43
Default

If this is a gaming rig, number one I would most def go with at least an Intel Duo Core2 e4300, preferably the e6400. Also, upgrade that video card to a minimum of the GeForce 7600GT. The motherboard on that is a micro board. I would go with the Biostar TForce 965PT motherboard. Great quality board, price is good, and it fits any standard sized ATX case. Als, it would work if you kept your current processor or work just as nicely if you upgraded to the e4300/6400.
__________________

lookin4help is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 05:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

get a core 2 duo. Gskill ram is better 2x1gb the abit aw9d-max is a better mobo. i would go with an antec psu. seagate barracudas 7200.10 are faster and have longer warranty for hdds. that graphics card is abit old bt should be ok if your gonna upgrade next year. what is a pentium 4 dual core do you mean a 2 processor mobo with 2 seperate pentium 4's???

Matt
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 06:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

I agree.
Passitalong is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 06:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 118
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Passitalong
I agree.
*cough* yes.....

but to everyone else, first it just said dual core P4 =/ not to sure

and its a basic rig purely because of price limits i dont have a great deal of money to spare which is why i chose these parts, to maximise upgradability

so unless the rig is around 400 and can be upgraded later its not what im looking for

btw names matt also from eng xD

so with the part recomendations a price scale would be nice =] thanks
__________________
<img src=http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v179/infernicus/infernicus_signature_5-1.jpg>
Infernicus is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 02:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 118
Default

bump*
__________________
<img src=http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v179/infernicus/infernicus_signature_5-1.jpg>
Infernicus is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 02:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default

Is that $400 USD, 400 Pounds, or 400 Euros?

...The whole world should just start using the Piece of Felt currency. Seriously.
Ellothar121 is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 03:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

he said he's english lol Ill help you out then go to either www.scan.co.uk or dabs.com if you want som real bargains go with ebuyer.com ill have a look in abit and suggest the best parts i can find for your budget

Matt
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 04:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default

Yeah, I saw that part, but I wasn't sure whether he'd gone to XE, and out of courtesy (or habit) converted it to USD.

Assuming you're talking about UK Pounds, that's $785.

I'll edit this post with some stuff. Do you need a new monitor, keyboard, mouse, etc?

EDIT:
Mobo
PSU
Case
The PSU and Mobo I recommended have been recommended to people time after time. I wanted to introduce you to a pretty good line of cases (Or at least, that's my opinion. That black thing near the top in the front is smoked acrylic, so you can see any LED screens you have behind it!)
Ellothar121 is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 05:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 118
Default

alright thanks guys and yea im im english pounds

maybe we should get a net currency =P

surgestions look good so far, ima update after one or two more posts with a final build
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v179/infernicus/infernicus_signature_5-1.jpg>
Infernicus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.