Base build off a dell dimension 3000 (STRICT BUDGET) - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2010, 11:39 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: Base build off a dell dimension 3000 (STRICT BUDGET)

thanks for your help Trotter.

that's just what i was looking for.
__________________

__________________
glasshalffull is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 08:49 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: Base build off a dell dimension 3000 (STRICT BUDGET)

I purchased the 2gb of RAM recommended by Trotter and the FX5200 video card.

Would it better to install either the ram before video card or does it really matter?

anything i need to pay close attention to (besides the obvious instructions) when installing these parts.

thanks
__________________

__________________
glasshalffull is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 11:51 AM   #23 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,446
Default Re: Base build off a dell dimension 3000 (STRICT BUDGET)

I would install the RAM first and make sure it accepts it w/o a problem. After that's all good I would uninstall the current graphics drivers, install the card, and then install the drivers for it.
__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-31-2010, 09:42 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: Base build off a dell dimension 3000 (STRICT BUDGET)

Hey Trotter....do you know which PGA slot I should put the new card in.

Waiting for support to call me back and tell me so i thought i'd ask here.

thanks for any help!!
__________________
glasshalffull is offline  
Old 01-31-2010, 09:56 PM   #25 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Base build off a dell dimension 3000 (STRICT BUDGET)

not sure what you mean by "pga" slot, but if youre talking about the fx 5200 gfx card that you got from Trotter's suggestion, that card has a pci interface so you just put it into any available pci slot on your mobo.

example (incase youre getting it confused with something else)
__________________
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 02-02-2010, 11:05 AM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: Base build off a dell dimension 3000 (STRICT BUDGET)

ok, I'm out of town with work and my parents are installing this video card...which isn't the best of situations but ...it is what it is. So they are having issues with the video card install. Here is what they told me.

when she went into bios to switch to the pci slot for the video card, the only option she had available was "automatic" so she chose that, installed the fx5200 drivers and went to restart. when she restarted, she's just getting a black screen.

any ideas what she could have done wrong? I know i didn't provide much detail as to how/what she has done during install and I'll try to get more to narrow down the problems. any starter ideas of where the problem may be... are appreciated.
__________________
glasshalffull is offline  
Old 02-02-2010, 03:14 PM   #27 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Base build off a dell dimension 3000 (STRICT BUDGET)

What happens if she plugs it back into the integrated port?
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 02-02-2010, 07:10 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: Base build off a dell dimension 3000 (STRICT BUDGET)

got the video fixed but somehow she doesn't have audio now. so i'm checking what she might have done.

Looks lke all the drivers are installed but getting audio for a second or 2 when playing online. I'm having them tell me if they can play audio directly from computer right now to narrow down where the problem is.

to be continued
__________________

__________________
glasshalffull is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$400 Budget Build Pseudoflare System Upgrades 5 12-01-2009 12:28 AM
First timer, please review my budget build? skyrend System Upgrades 25 03-26-2009 09:05 PM
Dell Dimension 3000 won't recognize old Seagate hard drive bpatters Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-12-2008 02:49 PM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 05:35 PM
Help with a low budget build Flame Hawk New Systems | Building and Buying 34 08-22-2007 06:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.