Barebone for photoshop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2006, 04:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default Barebone for photoshop

Hi all,

I'm planing to buy a barebone PC with integrated graphics, for photoshop only (I have separate PC for games, so I don't need barebone to be very powerful).

This is the barebone: ASUS P1-AH1 (with integrated GeForce 6150)
Other parts that will be put in barebone:
3200+ Athlon 64 CPU
7200rpm 80 GB hard drive
1GB RAM

What do you think, will this be enough to work with Photoshop CS2? Will I be able to work fluently with it, enough power for photoshop?

Thanks for your answers!
__________________

Domaso is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 04:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Should be okay. You might want to consider 2GB RAM, but if you can't afford it, that rig is fine for CS2.
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 04:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Are the advantages significant with 2GB RAM? How much more efficient (in percent approx)?
Domaso is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 07:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Hard to express the performance increase in percentage terms, since double the RAM will not give you double the performance. You might see a 10% decrease in loading times. I reckon that's about it.
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 07:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for help magouster, I'll have 1GB and if there will be need for more, I'll buy another 1GB. Thanks again for answers.
Domaso is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 08:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

A better way of putting it, PS grinds to a hault with 1GB and puting a 30second movie into its individual frames. With 1.5GB doing the same work I was able to minimise it and use the internet for an hour or so while it did its work.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v5...ed4gbofram.jpg
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 08:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
A better way of putting it, PS grinds to a hault with 1GB and puting a 30second movie into its individual frames. With 1.5GB doing the same work I was able to minimise it and use the internet for an hour or so while it did its work.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v5...ed4gbofram.jpg
So you want to say 2GB is not enough?
Domaso is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 11:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default

It will run photoshop fine. If I could run it with 128mb SDRAM on my old system, you can manage it with 1gb
Shando is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 12:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Yes I know it runs, but how it runs. The main thing about barebones is that it has integrated graphics card which uses a piece of overall system power, so I wonder if that reduced power will be enough for photoshop. The main reason that I'm choosing barebone is that I want the PC case to be as small as possible, and also barebones saves some $ over the usual PCs.
__________________

Domaso is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.