bare bones - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2006, 05:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default bare bones

how's this for a bare bones build... the rest of the parts... HD, OS, optical etc... is already had... butget is as close to 300-350 as possible. medium gamer, no FPS (SIM2, AoE II, III, Civ games, etc) music, video, etc... nothing to hectic...

MSI K8N Neo4-F - 43.01
http://www.cclonline.com/product-inf...ufacturer_id=0

AMD Athlon 64 3700+ - 79.08
http://www.cclonline.com/product-inf...ufacturer_id=0

1GB Corsair Value Select DDR400 Cas 2.5 Kit - 54.40
http://www.cclonline.com/product-inf...ufacturer_id=0

256MB Club 3D Radeon X1600XT - 87.66
http://www.cclonline.com/product-inf...ufacturer_id=0

Icebox Serious Black - 22.20
http://www.cclonline.com/product-inf...ufacturer_id=0

430W Antec NeoHE - 47.06
http://www.cclonline.com/product-inf...ufacturer_id=0
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 06:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

everything looks good, but im not so sure about the PSU. you might wanna take a loot at the ANtec SmartPower 400Watt, u wont need aynthing higher. and its about the same price.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 07:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

Jeez, when did they sell Athlon 3700+ for so little -_- Just a month ago it was ~$220

Yeah, it looks like a nice build. It's better than my computer
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 08:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
everything looks good, but im not so sure about the PSU. you might wanna take a loot at the ANtec SmartPower 400Watt, u wont need aynthing higher. and its about the same price.
the 430 watt neo power is more than enough, and is a great PSU, IMHO.

Quote:
Originally posted by Deathawk
Jeez, when did they sell Athlon 3700+ for so little -_- Just a month ago it was ~$220

Yeah, it looks like a nice build. It's better than my computer
those are pounds. so he's paying more than you would for that cpu since he livesi n europe...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 01:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

imahine wat we have to pay in Australia
but yeah that shoud work well
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.