Audio Splitting Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2006, 02:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default Audio Splitting Question

For christmas I am getting a 19 inch Tv/Monitor. I have a pretty nice sound system for my PC and would like to extend that to the TV aspect of my new monitor. The TV has hook-ups for everything under the sun including external spekers. What do I need to buy so that I can press a button to switch my speakers from my PC to the TV ? Links to the product would be very helpful. Thanks !
__________________

__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 03:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Anyone ??
__________________

__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 05:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

To be honest i think the Very best thing would be to buy a simple Amplifier, and a harmony remote from logitech or a Kameleon remote for you fashion consious users. However i would think there is a simpler solution. In My lounge i have a complicated setup which i use a Harmony remote and a denon amplifier with a Xbox 360 , HDTV ,DVD Player, 7.1 Speakers , Pc running through it . The Speakers also change the type of surround sound for different setting.

Im thinking that you probably could find an easier way to do this.



Thanks
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 05:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

I just thought sorry i totally forgot about This !... In my Office i have Logitechs Z5500 System connected to my pc and tv simply through the Control Hub for my Speakers there connected from the back of the hub to the tv via 5 normal speaker jaks. and to my pc via a Digital Coaxial cable. Im not sure how you could do this though without speaker control hubs. Unless u have a Expensive sound card with an external sound box hub like the Creative X-Fi sound cards.


Thanks
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.