ATX 12V 20 pin to 24 pin question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2006, 05:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default ATX 12V 20 pin to 24 pin question

I just purchased a Intel D945PVS and a Scorpio Raidmax case with 420 W power supply. I noticed my Intel board take a 24 pin connector, but the ATX only has a 20? I believe the connector is missing the 12v (but could be wrong). What should I do here? Is there an adaptor I need?

Any help would be appreciated

tom
__________________

ThomasWest is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 06:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

you need a 20 to 24 pin adapter
http://www.power-on.com/connectors-adapters.html
but be advised its unsafe to use the psu that came with your raidmax case as its generic , read here about why you shouldnt be using a generic psu http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=96974 , i suggest youll provide full system specs so ill recommend a good psu
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 07:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default More info

Thanks for your help thus far.

Intel D945PVS Motherboard w/ Pentium D 2.66 gHz 533 mhz Processor
Sondy DVD+R dual/double layer
Western Digital Serial ATA HD

The case itself has a : Raidmax RX-420K psu ATX12V (v1.2 not 2.0 which has the 24 pin).

Are you think I should replace the power supply that came with Scorpio box?
ThomasWest is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 07:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

you welcome , you forgot to put the graphic card in those specs , its hard to recommend a psu without knowin what it is and from i found out your mobo dont have it integrated and the power consumption of graphic cards vary alot depending on the gpu its based on , from reasons specified in the thread i gave link to and cuz its a cheapo 20$ psu you should absolutely replace it , just say what graphic card you have and ill recommend a good psu
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 08:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default graphic card

ati radeon 9550 w/ 256mg ddr

What is your feelings on the Ultra X2? http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...0&Sku=ULT31851

It's more than I paid for the case, but at this point, I'm too far gone! hahahaha

Thanks
ThomasWest is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 08:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

are you 100% sure you aint wrong on the graphic card? radeon 9550 is agp only and your mobo have pci-e and not agp (its an old standard pci-e is the new) so theres no way on planet that youll be able to connect the 9550 to it , you might wanna consider buying a new (pci-e) graphic card if you actually wanna see something on screen that is :amazed: , as for the psu you asked about this one is a much better choice for the price http://www.mwave.com/mwave/viewspec....iteria=BA21324
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 10:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default bonehead here

Ya know...Glad it's still in shrink wrap I'm going to exchange the video card and thanks for the heads up on the power supply
__________________

ThomasWest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.