Attempt number 2. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2009, 11:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Attempt number 2.

I would personally go with an AM3 board with DDR3 memory as the prices are the same.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 11:31 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Attempt number 2.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aliasaid View Post
I would personally go with an AM3 board with DDR3 memory as the prices are the same.
Ok than, do you suggest this board right here:
Newegg.com - MSI 785GM-E51 AM3 AMD 785G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

and also this ram:

Newegg.com - CORSAIR 2GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 Desktop Memory Model VS2GB1333D3 G - Desktop Memory
__________________

-RockMan- is offline  
Old 12-29-2009, 09:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 70
Default Re: Attempt number 2.

Ok want to order tomorrow, heres what I need some input on.
Mobo Newegg.com - MSI 785GM-E51 AM3 AMD 785G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
RAM Newegg.com - CORSAIR 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Desktop Memory Model VS2GB667D2 - Desktop Memory possibly two of these sticks?
Graphics card- Still lost, willing to spend up to 100 dollars including shipping.
PSU- Same here, want 550 waats, don't want to spend much here.

So any thought/new suggestions would be very helpful!
Gumbi is offline  
Old 12-29-2009, 09:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Attempt number 2.

Newegg.com - XCLIO GOODPOWER 500W 500W ATX SLI Certified CrossFire Ready Power Supply - Power Supplies

Use ATI Radeon 4200 onboard graphics it will do you just fine until your ready to upgrade to a better video card.
If you still want a new video card then get this:
Newegg.com - XFX HD-467X-ZDF2 Radeon HD 4670 1GB 128-bit DDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 12-29-2009, 10:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Attempt number 2.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gumbi View Post
Ok want to order tomorrow, heres what I need some input on.
Mobo Newegg.com - MSI 785GM-E51 AM3 AMD 785G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
RAM Newegg.com - CORSAIR 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Desktop Memory Model VS2GB667D2 - Desktop Memory possibly two of these sticks?
Graphics card- Still lost, willing to spend up to 100 dollars including shipping.
PSU- Same here, want 550 waats, don't want to spend much here.

So any thought/new suggestions would be very helpful!
that ram is ddr2, it would not work with that am3 mobo.

if you want 2gigs.
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F3-10600CL9D-2GBPK - Desktop Memory

if you want 4gigs
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9D-4GBNQ - Desktop Memory
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 11:34 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 70
Default Re: Attempt number 2.

I already have one ddr2 stick from my first attempt at building that costede me about 30 bucks, can't return it. Is it worth it to just get 4 gigs of ddr2 and that mobo? Or is the difference to little and should I keep the ddr2 ram and build off that?

Also, only parts I kept from first order were case, cpu (tested and works), hard drive and dvd drive. Don't think these could have been fried by the mobo? Or don't think there will be any compatibility issues?
Gumbi is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 02:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Attempt number 2.

you cant use a mobo that is just straight am3 because that only takes ddr3 ram.

if you want to use your current ddr2 ram, then you need a mobo that is am2+/am3, like this one
Newegg.com - ASUS M4A785-M AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 785G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 03:35 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Attempt number 2.

since you already have ddr2 memory, it makes much more sense to get the AM3/AM2+/AM2 board like the one muffin man suggested. The board looks nice, but i did notice its microATX, is that something you wanted?

What are the specs of the stick that you have? You can get another one identical to it or at least with the same specs.

As for PSU, here's one with free shipping: $50
Newegg.com - BFG Tech GS-550 550W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V V2.8 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Power Supply - Power Supplies
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 04:19 PM   #19 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: Attempt number 2.

Can't you sell the ram stick you already have and go with a ddr3 build?
__________________

ASUS P5P77D :: INTEL i5 750@3.6 GHz :: Asus HD4890 :: 4GB Gskill Ripjaw 1600MHz CL7 :: WD Black 1TB :: SSD OCZ Vertex2 60GB :: Corsair 750TX :: LG L204WT :: Windows 7 x64

<<<<<<<<<< If you think I've been helpful in anyway rep me :p
farinha is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 05:03 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 70
Default Re: Attempt number 2.

Yeah I'm planning on just selling the DDR2 stick, seems like DDR3 is the way to go? Or is it not that big of a difference?
__________________

Gumbi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phenom x4 work on my Mobo? M4A1 System Upgrades 10 06-03-2009 04:24 PM
Risks of changing the hard disk serial number Generator Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 03-29-2009 10:17 PM
C - Random Number Generator! george_1988 Programming 4 09-06-2008 12:12 AM
Find A Cell Phone Number Osiris Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 0 08-25-2008 10:19 AM
Increase number of simultaneous downloads superdave1984 Internet Software and Browsers 0 06-12-2008 10:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.