ATI Rage IIc 3.3v in AGP 4x slot? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2006, 01:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default ATI Rage IIc 3.3v in AGP 4x slot?

I have an ATI Rage IIc card. The grouping on the pins is small then large, so I'm assuming its 3.3v. I want to use this card in an APG 4x slot in a fairly new cisnet PC with a Celeron 2.8 and 512mb RAM. The only thing that I can be fairly positive of is that the card is not apg 8x, kinda obvious, but im confused on this whole matter. Please shed some light on this situation.
__________________

Biggie578 is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 01:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default

i fink apg 8x is backwards compatible


EDIT: o wait sry. agp 8x cards r backwards compatible. im not sure if the MB is backwards compatible or not.
__________________

__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 01:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "ATi > u..."

Quote:
Originally posted by krazieaznboi
i fink apg 8x is backwards compatible
Yes, I heard it was backward compadible with 4x also....
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 07:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

you shouldn't use 3.3v cards in 1.5v (AGP 4/8X) slots. they may stop the system from booting, be damaged or damage the board.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 11:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default



He is currently using an integrated card. The grouping of the pins on my card from left to right is little, then large, which is not agp 8x. I can also see on the RAM chips " 62K x 32 3.3V SGRAM" There are 4 TAM chips. the GPU says ATI RAGE IIC AGP"


Nothing here is APG 8x, not the card nor the slot.
Biggie578 is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 10:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default

so ur trying to install a 4x card into a 4x slot?
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 10:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AUSTRALIA
Posts: 87
Default

my card is 8x in a 4x slot and so was my last card before it. i dont seem to have any problems and i'm pretty sure all agp cards are backwards compatible
pat2k5 is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 02:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

I also had a 4x slot, and used an 8x card in it, worked fine.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 09:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sounds like a 3.3v AGP 2x card to me. like i said earlier though i accidentally typed cards instead of slots the second time.

http://www.directron.com/15agpguide.html
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.