ati problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2006, 11:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Default ati problem

i have a hercules prophet 4000xt 64 mb pci graphics card installed, my friend gave me a ATI Visiontek xtasy radeon 9250 128mb pci card and i want to install it but im having a very difficult time with it he cant find the driver cd but i downloaded the driver. i uninstalled my hercules and turned off the computer, unplugged it, removed the hercules, put the ati in, and when i turned it on i got a black screen then faded into a dark gray screen. my motherboard monitor outlet is different than my monitor plug so i have to have a graphics card so i have to keep plugging my hercules back up. i tried puting both of the cards in at the same time thinking that the plug and play would recognize it but it says it is a 9200 pro or something im about 5 seconds away from using some left over fireworks on my computer. plz help
__________________

cyrus186 is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 01:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

It sounds like your computer, in the absence of an installed graphics card, is trying to use your onboard video. Try this:
With the Hercules card in your pc, get into the bios and disable your integrated video. It's usually under "Integrated Peripherals/Devices" or something similar. Then restart, boot into Windows. Ignore any plug and play stuff trying to install drivers. In your Device Manager go to Display Adapters and delete any entries there. Then turn off your pc, unplug it, take out the Hercules and put in the Radeon 9250. Plug in your pc, reboot, and use those ATI Catalyst drivers you said you downloaded to install your new card. This should work.
It's pretty much normal for a card to first be detected as something a little different than it may be. A 9200 Pro or 9200 Series will be fine, just finish installing the drivers.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 02:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Default

i couldnt find anything like Integrated Peripherals/Devices but i found something that said Onboard Game MIDI it was set at 200/330 i disabled it and rebooted then i disabled the stuff in device manager and then shut down and put the radeon in and turned it back on and i got the black to gray screen
cyrus186 is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 10:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default

This can get complicated real fast , but in short ....go to your windows control panel and disable all you vid. cards and set them back up to run vga or similuar std grafix card, then you need to go into bios and set your bios up for the pci /agp/ or onboard card ...set this to your new card . which will be in this case your new ati card (PCI) . when you reboot to windows , click cancel when it ask you if you want to install the drivers automaticaly. then go to the windows controll pannel and click display , from there go to the advanced and click drivers and install your downloaded drivers.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 10:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 128
Send a message via ICQ to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via AIM to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via Yahoo to Smokin-A.I.
Default

you do have to reset to the basics to add a new card. and dont forget to ignor the auto install when rebooting.
__________________
if its not artifical intelligence, why have it?
Smokin-A.I. is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 05:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Default

i did what u said mguire but when i rebooted with the new card nuthing happened i got a blank screen still its like the comp is rejecting it like a kidney transplant i cant even get it to work at all even the way i did when i had both cards hooked up at least it recognized it then im just getting very frustrated and cant think clearly pretty much everything i do on the computer uses graphics if i ant figure this out im screwed
cyrus186 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 06:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

r u sure ur mobo supports the interface of the card?
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 04:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Is your case a custom built or a brand name (HP, Dell, Sony Vaio, etc.)? Some branded computers have different bios settings to allow installation of a new graphics card.
Also, how many watts is your psu? I believe that the 9250 wants 300 or 350 watts, are you not meeting this?
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 12:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Default

i figured out the problem my monitor is not compatible with it i guess it is an old IBM i hooked my sisters monitor up to it and it worked so we traded thanks for all the help
__________________

cyrus186 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.