ATI Graphics Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2006, 01:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default ATI Graphics Card

I am wanting to upgrade my graphics card which is an ATI Radeon X700. To either a x1950 but im affraid my system might bottle neck it or an x1650

The two cards im looking at are

X1950 - http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=GX-064-PC

X1650 - http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=GX-062-HT

System Specs
CPU - Intel P4 Prescott 3.4GHZ
RAM - 2GB
MOTHERBOARD - Asus P5GD1
HDD - 2 x 160GB
PSU - 430 watts that came with case upgradeing it to this one when i order graphics card http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=CA-017-OC

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance
__________________

Grundig is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 02:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

The X1650pro is a horrible card, the 7600GS can outperform it and it cost less
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=GX-082-LT


The X1950pro is the best out of these three ^^

But if you can stretch your budget then get 7900GTO which can beat X1950pro by far
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=GX-041-OK

If the 7900GTO is expensive for you then get 7950GT, the 7950GT is still better than X1950pro
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=GX-034-BG

And you will computer will not bottle neck any of these cards
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 02:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

Here is a benchmark that compares 7600GS to X1650pro
http://www.techspot.com/review/24-ra...0gs/page3.html

The 7600GS is the clear winner

And here is a benchmarks that compares 7950GT to X1950pro
http://techreport.com/reviews/2006q4...t/index.x?pg=4

7950GT is the clear winner, and even 7900GT is better than X1950pro

X1950pro performs equally to 7900GS
maroon1 is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 06:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Get the X1950. It won't bottleneck it - only will have less performance than a Core 2 or AMD 64.
turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.