athlon x4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2009, 09:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default athlon x4

what do you think of this cpu or is this amd's budget cpu aka like the celeron's
__________________

robina_80 is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 10:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: athlon x4

link to it.

But as far as i know its a pretty good cpu, but since its not part of the phenom lineup it lacks the L3 Cache. Intel's celeron lineup would be equivalent to amd's sempron. Although the sempron is only single core while the celerons now are dual cores.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 10:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: athlon x4

As far as I know it owns all the Celerons, except the Wolfdale based ones (because they have high clock speeds and are faster clock per clock, which makes it better in most games). In multi-threaded apps and stuff, it'll own any Celeron. It does lack L3 Cache, but I think for the price it really cannot be beat.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 12:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default Re: athlon x4

will it play games like an i5 or phenom
robina_80 is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 12:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: athlon x4

Ya it'll play games well.

The Core i5, and Core i7 don't have much of an advantage in games anyways, same applies if you compare the PII to the Core i series to even the AII X4's. The difference will be a couple FPS at the most, and that's at normal resolutions; if we're talking like at 640x480, there's no doubt it'll be a lot higher on those processors, but it'll be negligible still because your FPS will already be high anyways.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Athlon x2 6000+ 2.6g vs Athlon x2 7750 2.7g iishy System Upgrades 3 08-07-2009 08:29 PM
Bottleneck with AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ p11ma System Upgrades 8 12-06-2008 09:00 PM
Athlon x2 Memory Divider Chart RichM499 Overclocking and Modding 2 11-21-2008 06:44 PM
Athlon X2 Is Dead; Long Live Athlon 6000 Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-02-2008 02:47 AM
Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (3.0gHz) or Athlon 64 X2 6400+ (3.2GHz) jpfan18 New Systems | Building and Buying 19 11-22-2007 06:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.