Athlon processor questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2007, 07:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Default Athlon processor questions

I'm getting a new computer and have some questions about which processor I should choose. The computer will mostly be used for basic stuff any computer can handle, but also some occasional gaming (none of the high-detail FPS games though... some sports games, stuff like that).

The rest of the PC will be exactly the same... same video card, same everything else. Here are the options I'm looking at:

Athlon X2 Dual Core 3800+ with 1GB of RAM
Athlon 64 3800+ with 2GB of RAM
Athlon 64 3200+ with 2GB of RAM, and $50 in my pocket

I don't know much about Athlon processors, how much of a difference there is between these processors, or how much the processor affects gaming. Like most people, I know that more RAM is a good thing and it'll keep your PC from slowing down with a lot of programs open, but that's it.

Which of those three options would you recommend?
__________________

bobdonda is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 07:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Athlon processor questions

I would get the 3800+ and OC it, and get 2gb of RAM
__________________

__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 07:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 79
Default Re: Athlon processor questions

If you're not going to go with the more CPU intensive games, I suggest just going with the option that gives you the 50 bucks in your pocket--for games.
ZenOswyn is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 08:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Athlon processor questions

well it depents if you will be multitasking. If so, get the dual core, if not go single. and if you plan to multi task, more ram is better, and if not, its not really needed, but the more ram you have, the more noticeable the pc speed is.

so, id say go with the 3800+ and overclock it, and then get 2gb of ram.

btw, what cpu socket you running?

if you are going for 939, take this advice: get socket AM2, its more future ready, plus ddr2 ram, so its faster.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 08:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Athlon processor questions

1GB of ram really is plenty enough for most games. Supreme commander only recieved one from frame at 1600x1200 with 2GB. 37 with 1...38 with 2.

I would say get a Dual Core X2 3600 and then one gb and upgrade later...this will yield the highest performance.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 09:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Athlon processor questions

if you can, get the athlon64 4000+ san diego so you get 1mb L2 cache.

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 4000+ San Diego 2.4GHz 1MB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor - OEM
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 09:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Athlon processor questions

Why go with a single core though when the X2 3600 is actually cheaper in OEM?

Please do not get a single Athlon anymore unless you find some crazy deal as Dual-core prices on the X2's have dropped IMMENSELY and are much faster than a single in multi-tasking and such. As I have stated if you cant fit an X2 3600 and 2GB of cheap G.Skill ram then just get one gig...but ram prices ahve also dropped.


Please tell me your budget and if you will be overclocking or not and I will see what you should get.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 10:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Athlon processor questions

Thanks for the advice... sounds like dual core with 1GB is probably the best option.

My first thought was that RAM is more important... but I didn't know that after 1GB the improvement from extra RAM is relatively small (so it's nothing like the big difference going from 512MB to 1GB).

Also I wasn't sure how much of "dual core" was just marketing hype, like the Pentium Pro, Hyper Threading, and all this other stuff that made a microscopic different but was advertised like some huge breakthrough. But the more I read about this, it seems like dual core is actually kind of a big deal, so that's good.
bobdonda is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 10:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Athlon processor questions

Yes the increase from 1gb to 2 is NOTHING compared to 512 to 1gb.

The Dual-Core is NOT just hype as it is awesome however the Quad-core is quite the hype still.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.