Athlon II X3 or X4? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2010, 08:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
BurningSkyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saint Paul Park, MN
Posts: 139
Default Athlon II X3 or X4?

I'm trying to put a system together below $500 and I'm not sure which to use. what are the chances of a Tri unlocking to a quad and being stable?
__________________

BurningSkyline is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 08:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Athlon II X3 or X4?

The odds are good, but not guaranteed. A Phenom x3 would give a better chance, but you may pay as much as an Athlon x4.

Your best bet is to look for combos on NewEgg that would let you get better components for your money.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 08:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: Athlon II X3 or X4?

Here's a sample build I suggested for someone else:
Quote:
Here's a better one that fits the budget:
AMD Phenom II x3 BE and 890GX mobo: Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, LED LCD TV, Digital Cameras and more!
HD 5570 and Win7 pro: Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, LED LCD TV, Digital Cameras and more!
Raidmax Smilodon case, 500w PSU, and 4GB DDR3: Newegg.com - RAIDMAX SMILODON ATX-612WBP Black 1.0mm SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Foldout MB Computer Case With 500W Power Supply
Cheapo HSF: Newegg.com - MASSCOOL 5F9001B1H3 80mm Ball CPU Cooler
Caviar Black 500GB :Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
Cheap ODD: Newegg.com - SAMSUNG Black 22X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 16X DVD+R DL 22X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 2MB Cache SATA CD/DVD Burner - CD / DVD Burners
That's still a cheap build, but it includes Win7 pro, Phenom II x3 black edition CPU, up-to-date and 100% upgradeable motherboard w/SATAIII and USB 3.0, 4GB DDR3, a modern DirectX 11 GPU, and is around $450 (I think). Not bad ;D

BTW if you don't mind spending a little more, go with a better GPU. You can afford as high as an HD 5770 or so with the extra $100 and the $50 that is the HD 5570.
A Phenom II BE x3 is much better than an Athlon II. Mostly because it's a black edition. I'd go with a better HSF than the one I posted, so you could harness the overclocking potential.
edit: whoops sorry the links don't work- but take a look at the original post in the thread titled "Should I buy these computers?" in this same forum.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 09:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
BurningSkyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saint Paul Park, MN
Posts: 139
Default Re: Athlon II X3 or X4?

I don't have much to work with so I don't think I can get a better HSF in there.
BurningSkyline is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 09:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: Athlon II X3 or X4?

I'm pretty sure that that build is only $450 or so, and then just subtract the cheap one and add a decent $30 one or so and you should still be well under budget.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 10:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default Re: Athlon II X3 or X4?

i have a phenom II x3 740 unlocked 4th. From the reviews id be pretty certain that the 740 will unlock. Best bang for your buck as far as cpus go.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 10:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: Athlon II X3 or X4?

I don't think you can go any cheaper than what I posted. The CPU I put up is also probably the best for the price point.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 10:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default Re: Athlon II X3 or X4?

I think were talking about the same cpu, maybe idk, but i was referring to the AMD Phenom II x3 740BE.
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X3 740 Black Edition Heka 3.0GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Desktop Processor HDZ740WFK3DGI - Processors - Desktops
I payed $88 for it and its gone down more since then.

Youll need a HSF because of the oem deal, just comes with cpu in a plastic container.

The black edition with a after market HSF will bring out its cool feature, unlocked multiplier which will allow ur to oc for better performance in gaming.
This is mostly general knowledge on TF so u probably already know this.

also you will need a am3 motherboard that supports a feature called ACC.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 11:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
BurningSkyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saint Paul Park, MN
Posts: 139
Default Re: Athlon II X3 or X4?

but paying that much for a processor, + a HSF and Thermal paste would save no money.

Not sure what motherboard to pair it with. I need at least 1 PCI-E x16, A PCI-E x4 or x8, an x1, and USB 3.0 Hopefully for under $110
BurningSkyline is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 11:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: Athlon II X3 or X4?

Did you even look at the build I suggested? Geez! Black edition x3 CPU (possibly the 740), 890GX mobo, 4 gigs DDR3 RAM, HD 5570, the works! All for $450!
Look, Here's a link: Should I buy these computers
Post #4
Actually give it a look before you completely ignore me. You've discovered a pet peeve.
__________________

__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Athlon X2 Is Dead; Long Live Athlon 6000 Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-02-2008 02:47 AM
Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (3.0gHz) or Athlon 64 X2 6400+ (3.2GHz) jpfan18 New Systems | Building and Buying 19 11-22-2007 06:07 PM
AMD Athlon XP 3000+ Barton or AMD Athlon 64 2800? quietb05 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-29-2005 03:23 PM
Athlon XP 3200 compared to Athlon XP 3200A achanz Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 04-04-2005 09:50 PM
amd athlon 64 3000+ or amd athlon xp 3200+ phosho510 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 03-27-2005 01:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.