Ata Ide Ds4?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2006, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default Ata Ide Ds4??

Hey guys,

Sorry I have been a bit absent, im in the midst of school starting/moving so its been quite hectic.

The question that I have relates to newer motherboards claiming support for only one ATA connector.

Ive been looking into getting the DS4 at its September release, but the WEBSITE
specifications list the board as having ONE ATA connector. When you look at the board, you can clearly see two of them.



I have the following in my computer:
DVDRW
CDRW
80Gb HD
120GB HD

Now, If Im right and ATA is the same as IDE. Than am utterly confused as to why there are 2 headers..

the only thing I can think of is that they mean one ATA connector BESIDES one for Hard Drives, thus really meaning two..


What do you think?
__________________

__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 01:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Back = Floppy drive
Green = IDE Drives
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 02:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

Floppy.. haha totally forgot about that...

If there is a place to solder another DIE connector on there can I do it, will it recognize it. Or is the best thing to do to get a PCI controller card?
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 05:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

I had the same problem as you, I bought a PATA to SATA convertor that solved my issue.

You'll have to buy two though.

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.