Asus Motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2008, 08:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to T88SupraStyle
Default Asus Motherboard

Ok, so i bought a new motherboard and my friend told me that i need to put thes riser things on my board. I don't know why. but my board is already raised from the case. do i need them? My board didnt come with any so im guessing that i dont need them?

pleaes respond. thank you.

This is what the thing looks like
http://www.kenyada.com/mobo%20standoff%20008.jpg
__________________

__________________
テツヤ
T88SupraStyle is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 08:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Asus Motherboard

Yes you need them, or else your mobo fries. Take a picture of the inside of the case.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 08:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to T88SupraStyle
Default Re: Asus Motherboard

http://img129.imageshack.us/img129/7...9060800bc1.jpg

sorry if the pictures not that great. but yea my case already has like bent sockets to screw on the board so it doesnt touch the bottom. and if i raise it any higher the side (montier connection, usbs, and stuff) wont line up.
__________________
テツヤ
T88SupraStyle is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 10:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Asus Motherboard

actually you don't NEED them BUT you really have to pay heed to your mobo manual, if you have it. They are usually included with the mobo because they don't know what you're putting it in.

Mine didn't need them...but the first one I built did...etc

so it's a 50/50 depending on your case construction.
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 10:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to T88SupraStyle
Default Re: Asus Motherboard

ok, yea i don't need them i took i looked closley under the motherboard and its already lifted. like i said before if i lift it anymore nothings going to line up to the outside of the case. but yea... thanks for your help/
__________________
テツヤ
T88SupraStyle is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 09:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Asus Motherboard

The motherboard shouldn't come with standoffs. The case should. They case may already come with the main standoffs applied but you may need to add a few if you have a standard ATX or larger motherboard.

No matter what, you'll need standoffs.
turtile is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 12:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Asus Motherboard

refer to this...
How to Build Your Own PC - Matching Standoffs and Screws to Mainboard Holes

so it does seem that you NEED them if your case came with them...but I am still assuming. Some cases do not need them, as seen in the pics of above link, so not sure if those cases still come with them. Again, not all cases need them.
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 01:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Asus Motherboard

My guess is you and your friend are both arguing over the identical part. Your case already has them installed, and he is assuming that the case doesnt. The standoffs are little brass screws that move the mobo up about 1/4 of an inch from the case.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 04:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Asus Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
My guess is you and your friend are both arguing over the identical part. Your case already has them installed, and he is assuming that the case doesnt. The standoffs are little brass screws that move the mobo up about 1/4 of an inch from the case.
Yea, that's where I was getting at.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard kur0suto Overclocking and Modding 0 09-14-2007 01:40 AM
ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard kur0suto New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-02-2007 07:12 PM
Asus striker exteme or ASUS P5K3 Deluxe Motherboard csaefong New Systems | Building and Buying 22 08-21-2007 11:20 AM
ASUS P5B-E LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard - OEM The Zune Guy New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-15-2007 04:09 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.