ASUS Mobo P5VD2-VM QUESTION - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2007, 02:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default ASUS Mobo P5VD2-VM QUESTION

I would like to know if I can put a 500watt PSU in this computer
__________________

viper880 is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 02:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: ASUS Mobo P5VD2-VM QUESTION

...why wouldn't you be able to?
__________________

__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 05:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: ASUS Mobo P5VD2-VM QUESTION

Motherboard only support certain amount of voltage ?
viper880 is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 08:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: ASUS Mobo P5VD2-VM QUESTION

well motherboards and cpu has all the standards and yes you can fit your power supply only if your case allows you to fit it. also why are you getting that 500 watt power supply for?
__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 09:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: ASUS Mobo P5VD2-VM QUESTION

Thanks for the info,Im getting it because i wanna upgrade the graphics card on the pc & it requires a power supply of atleast 430 wats
viper880 is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 09:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: ASUS Mobo P5VD2-VM QUESTION

Im look to buy this card Product list & it requires a pci-e16 6 pin connector it says on the page it comes with one but where do i plug the other end of the 6 pin connector to do i just connect it to one of my molex connectors that come from my power supply ?
viper880 is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 09:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: ASUS Mobo P5VD2-VM QUESTION

usually there are 6 pin connectors on new power supplies but if not there might be a chance that the graphics card might be bundled with 4 pin legacy connector to 6 pin.just check which kind of power supply you are getting as you shouldn't skimp on a psu. there is a guide of which power supply to get here: http://www.techist.com/forums/f76/up...-guide-137927/
__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 10:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: ASUS Mobo P5VD2-VM QUESTION

My power supply dosnt have a 6 pin connector but it says the graphics card comes with one
viper880 is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 01:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: ASUS Mobo P5VD2-VM QUESTION

if that's the case then yes just use the 4 pin molex power connectors with the cable that came to convert 6 pin to 4 pin which is good especially when your power supply doesn't have it.
__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 09:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: ASUS Mobo P5VD2-VM QUESTION

Cool but now i got another problem it says on the graphics specs it need a power supplie with 12v 27A & i have one with 17A i think.. well there is a graph on the side of my power supplie & it says yellow 12v 17A is there gonna be problems ??
__________________

viper880 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobo Question Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-28-2007 11:45 PM
Asus update mobo utility Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 1 06-22-2007 10:15 PM
Question! MSI mobo... Jakigi New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 10:01 AM
ASUS p5B fanless cooling question plumber4578 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 05-15-2007 07:17 PM
MoBo question xcoreRelentless New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-07-2007 10:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.