Asus B85M-E: Will it work with my setup? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2014, 09:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Britain
Posts: 16
Default Asus B85M-E: Will it work with my setup?

Morning/Afternoon/Evening!

I am thinking of buying the ASUS B85M-E Matx motherboard

I currently have a Geforce GTX 660
11GB RAM
The i5-4460 (requiring an LGA 1150 socket)

Will all of my current items fit in with this motherboard?
__________________

Lcompensation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 11:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Asus B85M-E: Will it work with my setup?

Yes, but get the H81 I linked instead.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 11:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Britain
Posts: 16
Default Re: Asus B85M-E: Will it work with my setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Yes, but get the H81 I linked instead.
Why do you say that?
Lcompensation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 11:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Asus B85M-E: Will it work with my setup?

More expensive and doesn't add any extra functionality.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 11:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Britain
Posts: 16
Default Re: Asus B85M-E: Will it work with my setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
More expensive and doesn't add any extra functionality.
I do use a lot of USB connections though, so therefore the second MOBO would be more desirable? would it not?
Lcompensation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 11:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Asus B85M-E: Will it work with my setup?

They have the same amount in the back. THey both also have 2 USB2.0 headers on the bottom of the board.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 11:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Britain
Posts: 16
Default Re: Asus B85M-E: Will it work with my setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
They have the same amount in the back. THey both also have 2 USB2.0 headers on the bottom of the board.
It says - Intel® B85 chipset :
4 x USB 3.0 port(s) (2 at back panel, , 2 at mid-board)
Intel® B85 chipset :
8 x USB 2.0 port(s) (4 at back panel, , 4 at mid-board)

That's more than the board you linked me?
Lcompensation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 11:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Asus B85M-E: Will it work with my setup?

That's what the chipset is capable of, and both boards in question have 4 USB 2 in the back, 2 USB3, and 2 USB headers midboard.

All you have to do is simply look at the boards in question on Scan and see what I'm telling you is exactly as it is.

B81 board I linked.



Asus B85.


The B85 chipset is literally the same thing for more money. The only difference really being that B85 boards have more ATX options which doesn't apply to you anyways. Just because the number is bigger doesn't necessarily mean it's better. With this platform, the only two chipsets you need to worry about are H81 and Z97. The rest are just fillers.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 12:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Britain
Posts: 16
Default Re: Asus B85M-E: Will it work with my setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
That's what the chipset is capable of, and both boards in question have 4 USB 2 in the back, 2 USB3, and 2 USB headers midboard.

All you have to do is simply look at the boards in question on Scan and see what I'm telling you is exactly as it is.

B81 board I linked.



Asus B85.


The B85 chipset is literally the same thing for more money. The only difference really being that B85 boards have more ATX options which doesn't apply to you anyways. Just because the number is bigger doesn't necessarily mean it's better. With this platform, the only two chipsets you need to worry about are H81 and Z97. The rest are just fillers.
I am also currently using 4 dimm slot's, therfore downgrading to 2 would sway me, and the cost difference in Mobo will be made up by the instance of RAM. I do like your idea and budget wise is a lot better, if RAM wasn't an issue i'd definitely choose your board!
Lcompensation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 12:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Asus B85M-E: Will it work with my setup?

Ha you got me there

I kept forgetting you had 4 sticks.

Almost 20 cheaper.
B85M-E45 Intel S1150 MSI Micro-ATX Motherboard - Scan.co.uk
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Triple monitor Eyefinity setup, what's the best affordable setup CalcProgrammer1 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-24-2010 10:59 PM
Windows XP Setup Restarts the Setup Program When Your Computer Restarts Jon_M63 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 03-16-2010 07:40 PM
Make Win Setup-Disk that also installs applications during setup Xenesis Microsoft Windows and Software 1 02-26-2009 06:39 PM
Cooling setup that includes Heat Pipes, Peltier and a liquid setup. enGRAVEr Overclocking and Modding 2 07-08-2005 08:43 AM
Setup Not complete. Please Run Setup Again error WillyWonka Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-23-2004 02:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.