Appropriate Power Supply. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2007, 08:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Default Re: Appropriate Power Supply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
thank you for backing me up.

@jive turkey:

Seeing as you 'know what you want', I suppose that you wouldnt want this GFX/CPU/MOBO Combination that would kill your proposed setup, for the same price, would you?

MOBO:
Newegg.com - BIOSTAR NF4UAM2G Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

CPU:
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Brisbane 1.9GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor - Retail

GFX:
Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100176L Radeon X1950PRO 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail
The reason I don't want AM2 is because then I'll have to shell out mo' money for new RAM.
__________________

JiveTurkey is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 08:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Appropriate Power Supply.

If you get this RAM:
Newegg.com - SUPER TALENT 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

Okay you will be paying more but it wont be THAT much, and you will get a much much quicker and more upgradable system. And that ram will also kill all DDR ram.
__________________

Vaanish is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 09:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Default Re: Appropriate Power Supply.

Newegg.com - Rosewill Stallion Series RD450-2-DB ATX V2.2 450W Dual 8cm Ball Bearing Fan Power Supply 115/230 V UL, CSA, TUV, FCC - Retail

Would this work as a power supply for the setup I have?
JiveTurkey is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 09:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Appropriate Power Supply.

Yes it should work fine. Ot of interest, are you going wth your or my build?
Vaanish is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 09:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Appropriate Power Supply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JiveTurkey View Post
hmmm, a 450W Rosewill. Personally I wouldn't put one of those in my system.
It's only got 15A on the +5V rail

the Cooler Master's are good for the money:
Cooler Master Extreme 500W
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 09:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Default Re: Appropriate Power Supply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
Yes it should work fine. Ot of interest, are you going wth your or my build?
I have my build, and your build, in 2 separate lists, so I will be comparing. I just need to compare prices.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
hmmm, a 450W Rosewill. Personally I wouldn't put one of those in my system.
Why not?
JiveTurkey is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 09:53 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Appropriate Power Supply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JiveTurkey View Post
Why not?
Rosewill aren't great in terms of quality. Plus, it only has 15A on the +5V rail. That might cause stability problems.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 09:59 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Default Re: Appropriate Power Supply.

Well the Video Card I'm getting has requirements of:
"Minimum of a 400 Watt power supply.
(Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 22 Amp Amps.)"
and
"An available 6 pin PCI-E power connector (hard drive power dongle to PCI-E 6 pin adapter included with card)"

Do either of those 2 fit the description?
JiveTurkey is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 10:13 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Appropriate Power Supply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JiveTurkey View Post
Well the Video Card I'm getting has requirements of:
"Minimum of a 400 Watt power supply.
(Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 22 Amp Amps.)"
and
"An available 6 pin PCI-E power connector (hard drive power dongle to PCI-E 6 pin adapter included with card)"

Do either of those 2 fit the description?
They both have two +12V rails
the Rosewill has one 14A and 1 16A rail, while the cooler master has two 16A rails

You could get one of these:
Newegg.com - LOGISYS AD201 12v Molex to 12V 6Pin Adapter - Retail

and attatch one molex cable from each +12V rail into it

though I suspect the power requirements were made assuming you'd also have other devices attatched to the +12V rail
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Dell HP-1457F3 power supply moosehead1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-27-2007 05:13 PM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
7 VSB from power supply?? GregJ Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-14-2007 11:36 AM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.