applying gel - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2006, 12:40 AM   #31 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

wait i have another question... if i get the zalman cnps.. do i have to take out my entire mobo? it seems like something has to be mounted on the underside of the mobo.
__________________

__________________
eVGA NForce4 ATX SLI AMD Mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
eVGA GeForce 7800GT 256MB
Corsair Ram 1GB (2x512)
NEC DVD Burner
Western Digital 160GB Hard Drive






biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 02:58 AM   #32 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

yes, that one needs a different retention bracket on the mobo so have fun rebuilding your rig!
__________________

__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 03:07 AM   #33 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 48
Default

I installed a Thermaltake Typhoon over an Athalon 3200XP and am really happy with it. I play Far Cry, among others, and the temp never gets above 118 F. You have to make sure that your mobo has two mounting holes on either side of the processor, tho. Otherwise, you are limited in what heatsink you can use.
figero is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 09:28 AM   #34 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

ooo jeez.... i really dont wanna take this whole thing apart lol. my temp is 50-54 at load so maybe i can get away with some better case cooling and just adding some arctic silver to my existing heatsink. what do ya think?
__________________
eVGA NForce4 ATX SLI AMD Mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
eVGA GeForce 7800GT 256MB
Corsair Ram 1GB (2x512)
NEC DVD Burner
Western Digital 160GB Hard Drive






biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 12:30 PM   #35 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I know it's a ***** but it's worth it. With some AS5 and better case airflow you'd probably be getting high 40's.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 03:48 PM   #36 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

so are you saying i should get the new heatsink.. or will the better caseflow and as5 be good enough with my stock heatsink?
__________________
eVGA NForce4 ATX SLI AMD Mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
eVGA GeForce 7800GT 256MB
Corsair Ram 1GB (2x512)
NEC DVD Burner
Western Digital 160GB Hard Drive






biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 09:14 PM   #37 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

both if feasible. I would improve overall case airflow before I would get a high-end HSF.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 09:42 AM   #38 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

ok im gonna take off my heatsink and add as5.. then im gonna buy some really good fans.. and also make my main side fan intake with a filter.. hopefully this will eliminate the need for a new HSF. i mean cmon.. im not even Ocing.. i dont see why i should have to buy a new HSF
__________________
eVGA NForce4 ATX SLI AMD Mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
eVGA GeForce 7800GT 256MB
Corsair Ram 1GB (2x512)
NEC DVD Burner
Western Digital 160GB Hard Drive






biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 03:02 PM   #39 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

I would agree with you...... but I DON'T!!!

Dude just get the zalman or thermaltake heatsink/fan, quit being lazy, take apart your comp. and install them, then put it back together being aware of cord layout so that you have better airflow. In the end you will have a nice cool system with good cord management that you can easily OC if you want to (which by the way you definately should, I have the exact same CPU and it OC's easily to 2.7 and gets a great performance increase. If you get a lucky stepping you could get 2.9 out of it.)

AS5 and good airflow is great but you are getting temps with no OC that are MUCH higher than mine OCed to 2.7

Seems stupid to me to waste money on a bunch of fans and such that will probably make ur system louder instead of spending about $46 on newegg for the Thermaltake Big Typhoon and getting great temps and an incredibly quiet cooler that reduces the noise of your entire system. Anyway thats all the yapping I intend to do, sorry for babbling so much, I am bored.

Cheers and good luck
__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 04:09 PM   #40 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

that makes sense.. but as for overclocking.. i was told that my valueselect ram.. and evga mobo werent good for over clocking.. is this true?

also.. i have NOOO idea how to overclock.. i read this sticky in this forum about AMD overclocking.. but it left me just as confused
__________________

__________________
eVGA NForce4 ATX SLI AMD Mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
eVGA GeForce 7800GT 256MB
Corsair Ram 1GB (2x512)
NEC DVD Burner
Western Digital 160GB Hard Drive






biggjoee5790 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.