Applications/Games vs CPU Cores - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2012, 04:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to Torey316
Default Applications/Games vs CPU Cores

How much of todays apps and games use 4 cores, the answer can be kind of broad but maybe like of how many games come out in the past 2 years and future games and general apps that everyone uses.

I'm also wondering what the cheapest upgrade would be to stop a bottleneck between a 260 gtx and a amd athlon 64x2 5600+

Need a new mobo / processor obviosly but wondering whats the cheapest way to go with a little head room for maybe a cheap gfx update later. cpu has been at 100% on both cores for ages on games and it sucks seeing a gpu never pass 50-60%

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...ck,3106-2.html

would either of these bottleneck it? or maybe a 460/470 later on
__________________

Torey316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 10:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,293
Default Re: Applications/Games vs CPU Cores

A lot of encoding, video/audio editing, rendering, CAD, and 3D programs use 4 and more cores. Realistically the only things that use more than 4 cores require true CPU horsepower from Intel and those people can afford such CPUs. For instance Xeon workstations, or even the SB-E Hex chips like mine (hell no, I didn't pay for it lol).

Games that actually use more than 2 cores is very slim and I can't honestly think of any off the top of my head. By use more than 2 cores, I mean 100%, not just some blips across each core. It's sort of like how everybody wants more than 8GB of RAM simply because it's cheap. Sure, but it's a waste unless you can truly utilize it. We are in a period where we have a problem between 32bit and 64bit, and currently due to the majority having 32bit consoles and mostly 32bit OS in your average PC games are coded with mainly 32bit in mind. What that equates to the average PC gamer is, more than 8GB is wasted due to the fact that a game can see a maximum of 3GB with help unless it's 64bit native. Even then, I have never seen a game use more than 3GB of RAM.

As for your other question, I used to have a 6000+ chip in my server. When my friend who didn't have a PC came over I used to pop my old 465 in it so he could play BF3 and it actually ran medium to high settings at 1080p.

Your best option would to be this.
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ955FBGMBOX

It's under 100, and will honestly handle any game of today. Your 260 will be the bottleneck. Currently my fiance has my 260 in her machine because I swiped her 5850. It is paired with an i5 750 stock and it handles her games.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 11:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Applications/Games vs CPU Cores

As usual, I'm in agreement with P.P..

It'd be a great upgrade.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 11:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,293
Default Re: Applications/Games vs CPU Cores

I forgot to mention, depending on your board you can pop that 955 in it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 02:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to Torey316
Default Re: Applications/Games vs CPU Cores

I can't use it it's AM2 only and it doesn't allow the bios update without the freeware one some people made for it and don't really want to do this. I'd rather buy a cheap board and a new cpu, if that comes down to it dont you think the 1155 would be the best and cheapest option seeing as it has huge upgrade possibilities?

Also wondering if like I'm playing a game which uses 2 cores lets say and I'm running multiple apps in the back, google chrome multiple windows, music, etc will they use the same 2 cores or will they use other 2 or spread it out, confused as of how that works.

If only 2 of 4 cores are only ever used for 90% of apps, curios as of how this gets spread out or w.e.
Torey316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 02:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,293
Default Re: Applications/Games vs CPU Cores

More than likely if your AM2 board will support 125w+ chips like the higher up AX2s then it will support the 955.

Yea, but I could only suggest going that route as long as you could get an IB i3.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 02:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Applications/Games vs CPU Cores

Oh for sure, infact a i5 dual core can perform as well as upper end AMD ones

Problem becomes you'll need ddr3 ram aswell.

It'd run you about $250.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 02:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to Torey316
Default Re: Applications/Games vs CPU Cores

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Oh for sure, infact a i5 dual core can perform as well as upper end AMD ones

Problem becomes you'll need ddr3 ram aswell.

It'd run you about $250.
Yeah I built a setup for 243 $ with the 2120, an asrock atx mobo and 8gb ram

I could make it a bit cheaper with a Mini ATX board but I really don't like them. No room for upgrades really and seem to lack some things I'd like.

I know my board won't support anything above AM2 w.o a bios mod that some people made, (not supported by evga etc.) looks into it a while back.

Phenom II support on EVGA 590 SLI

Seems frustrating and risky for me, don't have any spare parts or spare money so messing something up could end up being not having a pc for a month or something.
Torey316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 02:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,293
Default Re: Applications/Games vs CPU Cores

Oh the 590sli. I had a 940be on my 590sli, but it was a Foxconn.

An i3 will game perfectly well and perform better than most AMD quads. In 2010 I did several tests pitting an i3 530 OCed against an OCed 940BE. The i3 won in almost every single test.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 03:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to Torey316
Default Re: Applications/Games vs CPU Cores

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Oh the 590sli. I had a 940be on my 590sli, but it was a Foxconn.

An i3 will game perfectly well and perform better than most AMD quads. In 2010 I did several tests pitting an i3 530 OCed against an OCed 940BE. The i3 won in almost every single test.
Yeah thats what I've been hearing and for an extra 140 or so will save me from possible failures and be more up gradable anyway.

Can anyone go back to the question about gaming / running multiple appps now etc. in one of my previous posts. I appreciate all the help.

Also curios what is a good program to show my CPU performance in game, kinda like msi afterburner but for CPU, want to see which games if not (all) are being bottlenecked by my cpu, im pre sure gw2 and bf3 are for sure, not sure about csgo but im betting that also.
__________________

Torey316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Cores Overheating VCobra Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 24 08-22-2011 07:36 PM
Besides games, what are some cpu intensive applications? Druid Microsoft Windows and Software 8 03-04-2009 08:41 PM
Assign Applications to CPU Cores Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 07-23-2008 08:09 AM
3 CPU Temperatures... 2 cores 1 CPU? commandercup Overclocking and Modding 9 03-13-2008 01:05 PM
CPU Cores, again YanBooth Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 12-30-2004 11:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.