Apple's next generation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2006, 10:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default Apple's next generation

Anybody know when apple is set to launch the next generation of laptops? i didnt/dont want to buy a first generation core duo unit. i'm nervous, despite apple's great rep, cuz they switchd from ibm to intel chips. i'll be first in line for the 2nd gen design though.
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 12:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

It's hard to tell. I would expect that since they have Core 2 Duos in iMacs, it won't be long before they hit laptops.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 03:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

i assume you mean core duo (rather than core 2 duo)

the laptops already have them.... i want to know when the next models (if they are planing them) will be coming out. i dont like buying the first wave of a new technology, yaknow
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 03:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

No, I mean Core 2 Duo. http://www.apple.com/imac/
The General is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 08:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default

The next set of apple laptops are going to see new logic boards and a slight processor speed upgrade, forget teh exact numbers. That applies to teh pros for sure, I do not know about the disgustingly popular macbook.
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 10:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

grr... so they have a 1.88 GHz core 2 duo in the boxs and a 1.88Ghz core duo in the laptops? how confusing
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 11:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

They don't have any 1.88Ghz processors. 1.83Ghz is the stock speed of an E6300.
The General is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 11:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the Core 2 Duo's are a fair step up though, even if the clock speed isn't much different.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.