Apple components on PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2006, 09:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 341
Default Apple components on PC

Is there any possiblity of using an Apple based peripheral such as their mouse/keyboard on PC?

I know there's a **** of alot of compability issues between the two, but Id assume people over the years composed solutions to blur the borders...

And even in recent times, we have the OS switching thingamajig. Lol. So yah I was just wondering about that; since Apple's input devices are pretty darn attractive in my point of view.
__________________

__________________
I believe victory only exist at the end, no matter how the factors present it.

XIGMATEK HDT-D1284
ATI RADEON X850XT PE
NZXT TEMPEST: CRAFTED SERIES
IF06 is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 09:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

yes you can....its in another thread somewhere....lemme see if i can find it
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 10:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

hmm. yes macs can do multi boot and even run windows! i like the mac stuff too, but only the kb, i like those usb ports on it ^_^ and the eject button did something in windows, cant remember tho, cant find that thread.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 10:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 341
Default

Commercial mentions magnetized power chord...so no tripping? or was that the monitors signal...something like that

back on topic lol....i want to know because i want this one mouse lol
__________________
I believe victory only exist at the end, no matter how the factors present it.

XIGMATEK HDT-D1284
ATI RADEON X850XT PE
NZXT TEMPEST: CRAFTED SERIES
IF06 is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 10:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Yes, you can use the wired Mighty Mouse in Windows, you can use the Bluetooth Might Mouse in Windows, you can use ANY mouse they make in Windows, you can use ANY keyboard they make in Windows. The "clear" button becomes numlock, and instead of it being CTRL WINDOWS ALT, its CTRL ALT WINDOWS, for the keys next to space.
The General is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 11:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 341
Default

so the installation software willl not stall at all?
__________________
I believe victory only exist at the end, no matter how the factors present it.

XIGMATEK HDT-D1284
ATI RADEON X850XT PE
NZXT TEMPEST: CRAFTED SERIES
IF06 is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 12:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 56
Default

Nope, not at all.
__________________

__________________
The rigs:
1- ASUS P4S800D-X / INTEL PENTIUM 4 3000MHZ HT FSB800 / 1GB DDR RAM KINGSTON VALUERAM DUAL CHANNEL / AOPEN AEOLUS GEFORCE FX 5200 128MB/ 160GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9 ATA-133 / 10.2GB FUJITSU ATA-66
2-PC CHIPS M825G V9.2C / AMD ATHLON DDR 1333MHZ (2666 EFFECTIVE) / 1GB DDR 400 AT 333 (DUE TO ONE DDR 333 STICK / NVIDIA GEFORCE 4 MX 4000 / 120GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 / 60GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9
3-Dell Optiplex G1 / Intel Pentium II 400 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / Some onboard crap 2MB card
4- ABIT BH6 / Intel Celeron 366 / 128MB RAM / 2GB Quantum HDD / 8MB ATI Rage 3D Pro
5-Intel SE440BX / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 40GB Maxtor HDD / Matrox MGA Millenium G200 8MB
6- IBM Machine E5U / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 3.2GB IBM HDD / 2.1GB Quantum Bigfoot HDD / ATI Rage IIC 4MB (BIOS says Mach 64)
7- Intel SEA440LX / Intel Celeron 333 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / 4MB ATI Rage IIC
8- Intel AN430TX / Pentium MMX 200 / 96MB RAM PC-100 / 850MB WD / 524MB Seagate / ATI <ach 64 2MB
lhuser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.