Anything re-usable from my dell? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2005, 06:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 96
Default Anything re-usable from my dell?

Hey,

I bought a Dell Dimension 2350 3 years back and am looking to build my own pc.

Is anything re-usable for a new system from my Dell?

Obviously not the HD, Mobo, or CPU.....

What about the Power Supply, Fan, Memory (currently has 512MB)
__________________

billru44 is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 02:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Well, the optical drives can be reused.

The hard drive can be used as long as it works... just reformat it and use it for storage or something.

The RAM could be reused, but it is PC2100, which is very slow by today's standards. Better than nothing, but slower.

The power supply is 200W and is proprietary. Throw it as far as you can...

The mobo, fan, case, and anything else can be used as a doorstop...
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 06:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

pretty much the only thing you can reuse, is optical drives yes, hdd if it works asnd is in good working condition ,

psu...dont even think about it, they suck!

mobo, which uses pretty old ram, which has most likely s478 with no AGP slot which is pretty useless

fan, heatsink no, fans like case fans you can i believe
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 96
Default

if i reuse my dvd drive and CD writer, do I need to find the drivers for these devices?

i think dell gave me a whole cd full of all the drivers... (which may be a pain in the a$$) b/c it would probably load a ton of drivers on my machine which i will not need

anybody know?
billru44 is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

windows will automatically install the drivesr for you, well thast what they did for me
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 04:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Windows will pick up your dvd/cd rom drive, floppy, HDD ETC
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 05:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

You could use the rest of the machine for firewood.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 12:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default

On top of all that....you could take the fans out.....The processor fan can be used as a cheap case fan since it has a 3 pin connector.
shdwsclan is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 12:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by shdwsclan
On top of all that....you could take the fans out.....The processor fan can be used as a cheap case fan since it has a 3 pin connector.
How can you do this? Is there like a 3 pin connector to a molex connector adapter?

You can pretty much reuse all the optical drives and the hard drive if it is working. I don't know why you said you couldn't reuse it though. Does it not work?
__________________

__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.