Anything better? :| - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2008, 12:52 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,659
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Anything better? :|

hey sinci, I'm in perth too. When I bought my rig I got it off Foxcomp and Ple (parts build). You can get a q6600 for $255 from Ple, a 9600GT for $186 from Foxcomp. For some reason the links you gave in your first post aren't working for me, so I can't check them out.
staticice is a good way to find the cheapest stuffs in australia.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 04:16 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 327
Default Re: Anything better? :|

Thanks Soulphire =]
I'll give it a look.
The links I posted before were from Austin Computers (I'm sure you've heard of them).

and sif I didn't know you were in Perth >_> :]
__________________

__________________
InfernoDeals
sinci is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 08:22 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Anything better? :|

Change the PSU the one I Linked.
Ste is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 08:42 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 327
Default Re: Anything better? :|

I can't edit the post anymore. :[
__________________
InfernoDeals
sinci is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 09:38 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Anything better? :|

Try these guys they are right near Austins and have the q6600 for $250


NetPlus Micro Computers


Edit: Just saw Austins have the same price, but Netplus is still good and same with PLE
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 10:52 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Anything better? :|

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinci View Post
I can't edit the post anymore. :[
Then update the list in your next post.
Ste is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 11:57 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 327
Default Re: Anything better? :|

UPDATED LIST
Changes to date: PSU and RAM

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400T (I recommended a Q6600) $269
GPU: 9600GT 512MB PCI-E2 Leadtek $215
MOBO: Asus Mainboard P5KC $175
CD/DVD: Sony AW-G170S $42
RAM: Crucial Ballistix Tracer 6400 2x2GB 800 $160
HDD:
500GB 3.5" SATA-II Samsung (x2) $214.50
CASE: Cooler Master Mystique 632S $141.21
PSU:
SilverStone PSU 500W $95.36

TOTAL: $1312.07


*edit* Can someone please clarify if the FSB difference between the two CPU's do make that much of a difference?
Q6600: 1066Mhz
E8400: 1333Mhz


AND, would getting one HDD (1TB), be better than getting two? (500GB)?



Thanks SOULphIRE, that website is really good =D
__________________
InfernoDeals
sinci is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 01:35 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Anything better? :|

Two hard drives are better than one because you can RAID and if one of the drives fails you can back it up with the other one.

Also as i listed before i would look at this site : NetPlus Micro Computers

They have slightly cheaper prices and are only a 5 minute drive from Austin

In the end wouldn't it be better to save that $50 and buy a game or something?
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 11:26 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 327
Default Re: Anything better? :|

Ooo those prices are cheaper =]]
Thanks.

I don't understand what RAID is =\
Neither does he xD

I look around on the forums for a definition =]
__________________
InfernoDeals
sinci is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 11:44 PM   #20 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Anything better? :|

RAID is useless technology unless used with SCSI drives. All it does is take your 2 drives and makes them act as 1. Depending on which RAID Array used it will eithe rput part of the data on both drives or Mirror the data on both drives making the 2 drives useless as you would only get benefit from 1 drives space that way.

That is good if hard drives were prone to failure early and often. But they are not. The stirpped method with putting data on the seperate drives is useless. Cause if by chance you got a virus or 1 of hte hard drives was defective and crashed. You would lose yoru data.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.