Any opinions? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2005, 07:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 109
Default Any opinions?

Basically im making a computer for myself. First time. Heres what i want, i want to know if this combo is good or not, im basically doin programs (flash, internet, msn) all that stuff, but i do play the occasional game. I just want to have an overall nice computer.

CPU- AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2GHz Socket 939 512k L2 Cache

Video Card- Asus EN6600/TD/128 GeForce 6600 128MB DDR PCI-E w/ TV-Out, DVI

HDD- Maxtor DiamondMax 10 SATA/150 100GB 7200RPM 8MB Cache (OEM)

RAM- 2X - 512MB PC3200 DDR400 184-pin

Motherboard- Asus A8V Deluxe Socket 939 VIA K8T800 Pro w/ Dual-Ch DDR400, Gb LAN, SATA Dual RAID, 8-Ch Audio, SPDIF, IEEE

Case- Aspire X-Plorer Steel Case - Black/Blue

Picture of the Case

Any comments or opinions would be great!
Thanks!

Adam
__________________

Adam123 is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 08:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I'd suggest going with DFI, MSI, or Gigabyte for your motherboard. They're very reliable. Asus tends to be buggy with Athlon 64 processors.

If this is the max of your budget, I'd downgrade the processor to a 3200+ and upgrade the video card to a 6600GT. It'll be worth it.

Not bad overall.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 08:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i was just going to say that fghtinirshnvrdi, defintely downgrade the processor to a 3200+ as you can just OC(overclock) it to the same speeds as a 3500+

i would say get an MSI K8N NEo4-F which is a excellent mobo for the money

what power supply do you have in mind?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 10:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 109
Default

Sorry if i sound like an idiot, Im pretty new to this. But im not to sure what MOBO is. I've heard people talk about it though. And i havent really figured out about a power supply, what should i get, and how much would it be?

I'm going to downgrade the processor, and im glad i can, because that one was a hell of alot of money for my budget haha.
Is this it?: AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.0 GHz Socket 939

If you could please explain "overclock" to me, that would be great.

And isn't the video card already a 6600GT?

thanks
Adam123 is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 10:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 109
Default

Sorry for the double post, but i just realized somthing...

If Mobo means motherboard, im gonna feel like an moron. hahahah
Adam123 is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 10:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 184
Default

Mobo is motherboard
royalk4 is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 11:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

lol it's okay, i was at the same point a couple of months ago. Yea a downgrade is definitely what you need and get a 6600GT. It's totally different from the 6600 and a hell of a lot better. Overclocking is cranking your parts up to get more "bang for your buck." Basically you use programs or tap into the BIOS (basic input output system) to get your parts to work faster and better.
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 11:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 109
Default

I dont know though... I dont think i'll need a 6600GT. I dont do alot of gaming. Atleast not hardcore gaming like BF2, Doom, Half Life, that kinda stuff. As for the overclocking...my buddy says that it can "overheat" or even cause it not to last at long. I dont know if i like that sounds of that. Haha.
Adam123 is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 11:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

Adam, definately get the 6600GT. I was in the exact same situation as you; light gaming with the 6600. But then I realized I wanted better, so I sent back the 6600 and got a 6600GT for like 40$ more.
Trust me, if you don't get it you'll want it, and if you do get it you'll be happy.
Also get the board pzero suggested.
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 12:02 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 109
Default

Hahah, well i guess ill take all of your suggestions, because yeah, ill probably want it. I did a little research, and i found one...

Leadtek WinFast PX6600 GT TDH GeForce 6600GT 128MB DDR3 PCI-Express w/ HDTV-Out, DVI

I hope thats a good one, its not TOO much more than the 6600, but i guess it'll be worth it.

And yeah, i'm getting that mobo haha
__________________

Adam123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.