Antec or Thermaltake? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2007, 03:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Antec or Thermaltake?

Well, again, my dad found another sale for a Thermaltake 500W PSU on Fry's Electronics daily page. Right now I currently have an Antec 430W Earthwatt's PSU and the one on sale is the Thermaltake 500W PurePower PSU. The Antec, I know is a quality brand and it has a 80%+ efficiency while the Thermaltake has a 70%> efficiency. Should I make this switch or keep the Antec?
__________________

phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 03:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
saladfork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 181
Default Re: Antec or Thermaltake?

I wish I had a dad like yours..

just saying lol
__________________

saladfork is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 03:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Antec or Thermaltake?

Lol, well he's just helping me build my computer since I got good grades on my report card in the last semester. And also, I screwed up the VAIO he got me about 7 years ago so he's rebuilding it.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 11:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Antec or Thermaltake?

Do you really really need it? If its modular I say who cares if you need it just get it.

P.S. Don't listen to me
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 08:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 184
Default Re: Antec or Thermaltake?

I use the same power supply, if it runs the system you listed, then I'm happy because thats similar to my next upgrade... (won't have to get a new psu), but this is off topic.

I don't see any reason on spending the money if you don't need it. Does your computer stay stable as is? If its modular, its kinda nice to have, but not necessary.

Might just save the money for another part, (new video, more ram, extra hd, etc.), or a new IO device, (screen, better mouse/keyboard, speakers, etc.) I prefer Antec, but that is my opinion.

You said you messed up your VAIO, put the money to fixing that.

Just my opinions.
__________________
Tech TV is Back!
www.dl.tv
-- watch it, its good stuff.
-------------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
Powered by: Antec Earth Watts
-------------------------------
ssjheero_yuy99 is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 10:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Antec or Thermaltake?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssjheero_yuy99 View Post
I use the same power supply, if it runs the system you listed, then I'm happy because thats similar to my next upgrade... (won't have to get a new psu), but this is off topic.

I don't see any reason on spending the money if you don't need it. Does your computer stay stable as is? If its modular, its kinda nice to have, but not necessary.

Might just save the money for another part, (new video, more ram, extra hd, etc.), or a new IO device, (screen, better mouse/keyboard, speakers, etc.) I prefer Antec, but that is my opinion.

You said you messed up your VAIO, put the money to fixing that.

Just my opinions.
Peter Huang just posted a thread about the Thermaltake PSU and it's a bad one. So I'm sticking with my Antec! ANTEC :love: Also getting a P35-DS3R soon.. don't know when though because I want to OC my E6600 to at least 3.0+ GHz..
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Antec Or Thermaltake osborne3 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 07-14-2007 12:44 PM
Antec Nine Hundred Mid Tower Case - $69.99 from Frys.com Bot2011 New Systems | Building and Buying 36 07-10-2007 12:16 PM
I bought the Thermaltake Toughpower 750Watts pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-05-2007 11:43 AM
Middle Fan in Antec P180 Case Graham Overclocking and Modding 3 05-23-2007 05:28 PM
Will this fit in an Antec 900? Pls help... Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 3 05-16-2007 07:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.