Another CPU Upgrade Post - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2006, 01:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default Another CPU Upgrade Post


I currently have the Intel MB, D875pbz, running a 2.8c Northwood 800Mhz 478 pin CPU. I want to upgrade. Here is the list of processors from Intel's site that my MB supports. Supported Processors

The only one I can find on Newegg is the 3.0E. I guess they are not selling the 3.2 and 3.4 anymore. So, I'm guessing that going from a 2.8C to a 3.0E wouldn't be much of an improvement. Is that correct?

Also, the extreme edition processors are also on the list, does that mean dual core?


TMoney is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 01:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
reggie_da_man's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567

Don't upgrade your CPU. You won't notice much of a difference and the technology your using is outdated.


reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 03:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
Nukem's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 4,334

Agreed... Still a usable system, but out dated. Save your money. Do some research. and wait a few months until the new batch of components come out, then build a new system that'll last a couple of years.

Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70
NZXT Source 530 / i7-3770K / Corsair H100 / ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / SoundBlaster Recon3d
Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSD/Seagate 1TB/2TB/WD 2TB
4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 / PNY GTX 980 ti/ Seasonic M12II 850W
Nukem is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 05:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495

Your processor is definitely one of the higher end ones, and so upgrading it would only waste your money.

Your much better off saving up so more money and upgrading when Conroe is released later this summer
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 08:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3

ok people. Thanks for the input. I'll hold off.

I was actually able to overclock to 2.9 last night, so that gives me a little more POWER!
TMoney is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 12:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
ulater6000's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000

Yeah, I would wait for the intel conroe to come out this summer, and when it does, you will have to buy a new motherboard too.

CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.