amd's triple cpus??????????? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2008, 07:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default amd's triple cpus???????????

whats the point when they already bought out quads
__________________

robina_80 is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 08:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: amd's triple cpus???????????

They have some weird way of it being to their advantage. I actually built a PC with one of these in it and it worked very very well. It was much more performance than what I expected.

I'm not sure exactly why they do it.. but I do know they're significantly cheaper than quads though.
__________________

Snake91839 is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 09:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: amd's triple cpus???????????

Partially it's a way to sell the quad cores that come off of assembly with only 3 cores working. Better than throwing them out I guess and they work perfectly, just only 3 cores. Intel and AMD both do similar things, that's why we have stuff like dual core semprons and celerons. They come off assembly and only half of the L2 cache is working. They just shut off the bad part and voila, sell a lower end cpu that works fine.

Haven't seen any benchmarks for the triple cores but it seems like a decent concept.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 09:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: amd's triple cpus???????????

AMD Phenom X3 8750 Reviewed at OCC
Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD's newest Quad-core, Tri-core roadmaps Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 03-22-2008 05:22 AM
Intel delay launch of 3 CPU's because AMD poses no threat Oreo Off Topic Discussion 8 12-20-2007 04:57 PM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
New Processors.... CPU's..... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 8 11-30-2007 05:49 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.