amd64 3000+ > athlon 3200+? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2005, 10:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to neo214
Default amd64 3000+ > athlon 3200+?

My question is about 64 bit procs, How good are the performance wise to the 32 bit ones?
__________________

__________________
Later!
neo214 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 11:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

AMD64 memory bandwidth takes the Athlon XPs down a few pegs
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 05:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to neo214
Default

Few = 300 mhz?
__________________
Later!
neo214 is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 05:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice 1GHz FSB 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor

VS

AMD Athlon XP 2700+ Thoroughbred 333MHz FSB 256KB L2 Cache Socket A Processor

667MHz difference. Thats a difference you'll notice.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 05:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to PhillipBelcher Send a message via Yahoo to PhillipBelcher
Default

They are great, however the current price, and the lack of compatibility with 32-bit stuff doesnt seem worth it to buy at this time.

Im waiting for more compatibilty and the price to drop some more.
PhillipBelcher is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 05:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Default

Another question to add.. so if we were going to buy a mobo and cpu should we go with the 64 processor just in case of further upgrading? Sounds like I answered my question but if you think otherwise let me know.
jcee76 is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 05:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to PhillipBelcher Send a message via Yahoo to PhillipBelcher
Default

if you got the money and patience go for it
PhillipBelcher is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 06:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

64-bit procs are better than 32-bit ones regardless of the 64-bit capability. Ofcourse they're more expensive, but you're getting your money's worth now, as well as in the future. A 64-bit processor right now will outperform a 32-bit processor even in 32-bit applications. But when 64-bit apps. come out, if you have a 64-bit proc then you'll see incredible performance from it, but if you have a 32-bit processor, then you'll be stuck in the 32-bit age.

They're not that much more expensive anyways...and nothing less will suffice for today's and tomorrow's games.
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 07:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

64 bit enviroments are still a long way away unless you're using workstation class applications...afterall, the first AMD64s were released I think two years ago now

As I said, AMD64 memory bandwidth is significantly better than Athlon XP systems...next year with the HTT bus combined with faster DDR2 memory interfaces will only further this gap

AMD64s are also much more efficent per clock cycle in both speed and power consumption
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 08:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to neo214
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PhillipBelcher
They are great, however the current price, and the lack of compatibility with 32-bit stuff doesnt seem worth it to buy at this time.

Im waiting for more compatibilty and the price to drop some more.
Whow! so it could be incompatible with some (or most) of the 32 bit applications that you have now?
__________________

__________________
Later!
neo214 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.