AMD XP 3200+ upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2009, 07:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default AMD XP 3200+ upgrade

So i upgraded my 1.0gHz processor to the AMD XP +3200. This new one is supposed to run at 2.2gHz. After i installed it last night, it was only running at 1.1gHz.

I have a soyo kt600 mother board that can run 400mHz fsb. In my bios i changed the fsb to 200, which i'm guessing is doubled to 400mHz.

Do i need to overclock it to achieve the 2.2gHz or is it supposed to be a plug and play which automatically runs at 2.2gHz.

btw, this is the auction i bought the processor from:

AMD Athlon XP Barton @ 3200+! 2500+ 2600+ 2800+ 3000+ + - eBay (item 200314384935 end time Feb-26-09 16:32:03 PST)

hotmetal5 is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 07:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954
Default Re: AMD XP 3200+ upgrade

Once you set the FSB it should run at 2.2. Check and make sure that it is registering as a 3200+... you might have been ripped off.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 01:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: AMD XP 3200+ upgrade

i'm going to give this a shot. I just read the manual for the mother board and i have to physically move a jumper around on the board to set the FSB to 200MHz. Then, within the bios, i might be able to further push this to 400MHz. I'm hoping i didn't get ripped off, but when i right click on "my computer" under processor, it only says AMD Athlon, and not AMD Athlon XP +3200. I'm going to reset my CMOS and try again.
hotmetal5 is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 12:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: AMD XP 3200+ upgrade

need some help guys. I tried to set the jumpers on my motherboard to run at 200MHz. It comes with options (100,133,166,200). However, when windows was loading, i received an error message that said a file is missing from the system along those lines. it loads at 166MHz but not 200. Since my multiplier is 11, i'm currently around 1800Hz.

just want to bump it to cpu's potential of 2.2gHz.
hotmetal5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complete system upgrade CodyA20 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 01-18-2009 05:46 PM
New AMD Quad-Cores Scionix New Systems | Building and Buying 9 08-16-2008 04:46 AM
Upgrade Questions X Xarulsis New Systems | Building and Buying 1 08-02-2008 10:34 AM
Forseeable price drops? My possible upgrade plan. Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-04-2007 01:21 AM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 03:53 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.