AMD X2 4200+ vs 3.6 ghz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2006, 07:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Default AMD X2 4200+ vs 3.6 ghz

any idea which one is faster?
__________________

clancy the sock is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 07:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

3.6ghz what.......pentium? AMD? need more details
__________________

thebleakness is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 07:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by thebleakness
3.6ghz what.......pentium? AMD? need more details
it's obviously a Intel cpu. there is no amd cpu clocked at that speed.

now, remember, clock speeds are not the only thing to consider. It's all a matter of clocks per cycle, meaning that an AMD 1.8 Ghz processor can be just as fast as a 2.8 Ghz Intel processor. This difference can be applied for different reasons. AMD are generally better for gaming, Intel cpus are better for data processing and are known to be much more stable and reliable than AMD processors (although not as performing). I'm not 100% over all this cpu stuff, somone correct me if I'm wrong.

What do you want to do with this cpu anyway?
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 08:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Default

mainly gaming
clancy the sock is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 08:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default

well, go for the amd. I'm still asking around about this, but another good bet from AMD is the dual core Opterons, maybe.. they're really meant for server use but I heard they're great for gaming and usually have higher cache than their Athlon X2 equivalents and apparently overclock well too.
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 08:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Default

yeah this ones a dual core.

there is no speed loss with a dual core right?
clancy the sock is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 08:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

nope its alot better then a single core CPU
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 10:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

The X2 4200+ would be the way to go. Take a look at the latest Computer Shopper Magazine. You will see that even the AMD 4200+ beats almost all the Intel dual core CPUs and even the mighty Pent Extreme in a couple of applications.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 12:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by teh_omar
it's obviously a Intel cpu. there is no amd cpu clocked at that speed.

now, remember, clock speeds are not the only thing to consider. It's all a matter of clocks per cycle, meaning that an AMD 1.8 Ghz processor can be just as fast as a 2.8 Ghz Intel processor. This difference can be applied for different reasons. AMD are generally better for gaming, Intel cpus are better for data processing and are known to be much more stable and reliable than AMD processors (although not as performing). I'm not 100% over all this cpu stuff, somone correct me if I'm wrong.

What do you want to do with this cpu anyway?
No way the X2 would be better.And that is BS that AMD isnt any better at data processing and there just as stable as Intel they run way cooler.Intels:Equals Egg Fryer>
If AMD CPU's are unstable than why do more people OC operton CPU's
even AMD CPU's way way more than intel.
Rember Clock speeds dont mean much vs. Bus speeds and L2 lache and reliablity.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 04:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

you do realise that intel have higher bus speeds and L2 cache right? but i agree AMD is superior. if i were you i would either get the 4400+ toledo or the 3800+ manchester. i don't think it is worth paying money for the higher clocked variants, this is of course if you don't mind overclocking a little
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.