AMD X2 3800 vs a P4 3.2ghz, big performance difference? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2006, 12:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default AMD X2 3800 vs a P4 3.2ghz, big performance difference?

Hello all, about to start building a new PC. My current CPU is an Intel P4 3.2e ghz Prescott CPU. I'm going to go with the AMD X2 3800 CPU in the build and was wondering if anyone could tell me what type of improvements in speed I can expect to see? Or is dual core currently not going to give any tremendous boost in speed until more applications support it? I run several apps, but this machine will primarily be used for gaming. I know the AMD chip will be A LOT cooler, so that will be nice. Any other info on comparisons would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 12:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

Well, AMD is way better for gaming, so if you're mostly going to be gaming, go with the 3800x2. you might want to wait for AM2 though, it will be more future proof - charlie
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 01:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

I did read a bit on the AM2. Due out in June/July right? I haven't found much information on it other then the fact it supports DDR2 memory. Is that such a big deal? Really, I don't mind waiting, I just don't know much about AM2 now besides the DDR2 support and more L2 cache, like 2mbs or more I think. Shrug.
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 10:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Dual core all the way. The AMD is like a p4 3.8ghz. That p4 3.2ghz is nothing compared to the AMD X2 3800+. Get the X2.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 03:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Is it true dual core has alot of issues running certain games? One of the review sites for the X2 3800 someone said it's not backward compatible at all and even fix patches for some current games aren't working correctly. I'm guessing it's something to do with timing. Shrug. I'd love to do dual core, but I do tend to go back and play older games from time to time, so is single core the way to go?
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 11:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

to my knowledge it is only on game that glitches black and white 2 but besides that dual core it the way to go
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 11:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
Well, AMD is way better for gaming, so if you're mostly going to be gaming, go with the 3800x2. you might want to wait for AM2 though, it will be more future proof - charlie

or even better, wait until intel and AMD merge in 2016 when they plan on releasing the uberest processor ever
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 12:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

As long as there won't be any serious game issues with Dual Core I think I'll pick up the X2 3800. I'd just hate to install a game and it not work because of the dual core. And I do have a tendency to play some old games.
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 09:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
The AMD is like a p4 3.8ghz. That p4 3.2ghz is nothing compared to the AMD X2 3800+. Get the X2.
not quite. the x2 3800+ is 2x3200+ venice cores so is effectively double the processing power of the p4, although d amn right the p4 is nothing in comparison. the 3800+ rating comes from the particular benchmarks they used which barely take advantage of the second core whatsoever. in a game the main performance boost for the time being will come from the second core being able to take care of anything running in the background and stop it from interfering with the game. generally problems in games come from it trying to run on both cores and just setting it to run on one will fix the problem
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 10:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Dual core is nowhere near its potential yet... Once it becomes more mainstream in applications released, I am sure we will see considerable performance gains from the same hardware.
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.