AMD vs Pentium - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2006, 11:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to Massomeh
Default AMD vs Pentium

Hi,

Somebody told me that AMD processors are as good as pentium. He said AMD are more efficient than pentuim although the speed is kinda slower.
So here is my question if I buy an AMD Sempron 2800 64bit 1600Mhz would it be as good as pentium 4 2.4?

Thanks a lot.
__________________

Massomeh is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 11:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

The Sempron 2800 would be the same or faster.

Core 2 > AMD 64 > Pentium 4 > Sempron > Celeron (in terms of speed)
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 11:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the sempron 2800 would be faster in my opinion.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 11:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

I figure they're about equal. However, the P4 might be able to beat the Sempron at certain things like encoding.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 12:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i doubt it, semprons are actually pretty underrated in my experience. the P4 would probably be better at encoding if it has HT.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 02:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

according to amd its running at ~2.8 speeds i doubt it though i always hated amd's naming system
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 03:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

If you have any more questions:

http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=34691
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 03:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 17
Default

In my opinion, the sempron would be better in game performance. Plus, it's 64 bit, and from the looks of your system, you are more than able to go to Vista 64 when it comes out.

EDIT: Oh yeah, oops. It's not 64 bit. But I believe that it's still better.
edmn61 is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 05:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

I don't think that the Sempron line is 64 bit.

I seriously suggest an Athlon 64 3000 at least. It will easily outperform a 2.4ghz P4, 64 bit, and is only 65 bucks at some stores.
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 08:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Gooooooooooooooooo amd!
__________________

keyser09 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.