AMD vs Intel Processors - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2007, 02:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 29
Default

I'm going to be purchasing an e6600 in mid-late May.

How much watts will I need for my processor to be running fine, if I overclock?
__________________

avinnik is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 02:40 PM   #12 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by avinnik
I'm going to be purchasing an e6600 in mid-late May.

How much watts will I need for my processor to be running fine, if I overclock?
It depends on how much you'll be overclocking it. A 200mhx overclock may not require as many watts as say a 400mhz overclock... etc.
__________________

blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 02:46 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 29
Default

Hmm. Well I have no prior experience to overclocking as well lol.

I was going to get a OCZ 700 Watt PSU, as you can see in my topic in this forum.

Would this be enough? And as for the mobo, is the ASUS P5B-E good for this? I also would want SLI in the future.
avinnik is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 03:38 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by maroon1
Intel will beat the AMD, even if you don't overclock

At stock speed the E6400 beats 5000+ and 5200+ in most cases

E6600 beats FX62 and 5600+ at stock speed

E6700 beats 6000+ at stock speed.
Maybe I was looking at two different models when compared, or maybe a different benchmark program. But I (Thought I saw anyways) saw some AMD Proc being better then a C2D at stock.

Meh, Guess I was seeing things...

As for the Power supply. Even with a major Overclock you won't need that large of a power supply. a 500 or 550 Watt is more than enough. Just remember to stick to these Brands.
PC power and Cooling
Etasis
Zippy
Corsair
Seasonic
Silverstone
OCZ
Mushkin
Fortron
Enermax
Antec
Tagan
Ste is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 04:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 29
Default

Heh I didn't know so little was needed to overclock

So is it more like what your motherboard can do, over your PSU?
__________________

avinnik is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.