AMD vs Intel... I am confused - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2006, 09:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Red face AMD vs Intel... I am confused

Anyone has a good idea which performs better....

I see for example AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+ with running frequency of 2.0Ghz. Is this universal measurement for speed meaning that this processor runs like intel at 2.0Ghz? Can anyone explain to me how this wo compare

Thanks Guys
__________________

[BIH] Cerberus is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 10:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 203
Default

no. An AMD 3800+ is compared to intel as a 3.8ghz in intels case. So yeah, get comething like a Daul core AMD and it will beat a Daul core intel (unless there is a daul core intel with 3.8ghz)

AMD is in general better for gaming simply put
__________________

__________________
Computer noob in training.
savagenator is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 11:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

A AMD processor works differently to a Intel. AMD runs alot more efficiently, having smaller pipelines so it can do more per clock, and because of the smaller piplines in runs alot better in games, as AI isn't a written script so some calculations are discarded, and an Intel would have wasted alot more time than a AMD. AMD also makes a huge difference between intel with the onboard memory controller, so it doesn't need to go through the extremly slow memory controller on motherbooards. This onboard memory controller allows bandwidth of up to 6.4ghz when the RAM is run in dual channel with the memory at PC3200, Intel doesn't give twice as much bandwidth when in dual channel.

All this put together makes AMD so much better at gaming than the equiverlent Intel, but at alot less.

Here is the benchtests:

Gaming: http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/11/...05/page29.html

Video converting:
http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/11/...05/page32.html
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 09:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=34691
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.