AMD Sempron vs. Intel® Celeron® D - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2005, 03:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 27
Default AMD Sempron vs. Intel® Celeron® D

I spent a good amout of time on graphic design and occassionally need a backup system for minor tasks. I was looking for something not to fancy and inexpensive to get, I was comparing two computers.

The Compaq Presario SR1500NX
AMD Sempron processor 3000+ operating at 2.0GHz,
with 512KB L2 cache and 333MHz frontside bus.
256MB of PC2700 DDR SDRAM (expandable to 2.0GB)
80GB 7200-rpm Ultra DMA hard drive
DVD-ROM/CD-RW drive (max. speeds 16x/48x32x48x)

Hewlett Packard a1101n

Intel® Celeron® D processor 340 with 533MHz frontside bus, 256KB L2 cache and 2.93GHz processor speed
512MB PC2700 DDR SDRAM for multitasking power, expandable to 2GB
DVD-ROM/CD-RW combo drive
__________________

stardanz1 is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 03:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 27
Default

OOPS! I didn't quite get to finish and my finger slipped.

Anyway, my first thought was the HP has a faster processor speed of 2.93GHZ, but then I found an old processor comparison between the AMP Sempron 2800 2.0GHz and an Intel Celeron D 2.8GHz and the benchmarks indicated that the AMD won most of the tests (attributing it to Intel's lack of hyper-threading). Any comments regarding the AMD vs. Celeron D processors?

Compate the two systems below:

The Compaq Presario SR1500NX
AMD Sempron processor 3000+ operating at 2.0GHz, with 512KB L2 cache and 333MHz frontside bus.
256MB of PC2700 DDR SDRAM (expandable to 2.0GB)
80GB 7200-rpm Ultra DMA hard drive
DVD-ROM/CD-RW combo drive
***** AND *****
Hewlett Packard a1101n
Intel® Celeron® D processor 340 with 533MHz frontside bus, 256KB L2 cache and 2.93GHz processor speed
512MB PC2700 DDR SDRAM expandable to 2GB
DVD-ROM/CD-RW combo drive
__________________

stardanz1 is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 04:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Dont get a HP or a Compaq :P
Get the parts and build one yourself, you end up with a better rig. The HP rig looks like they are back using Traijen motherboards, using PC2700 (DDR333) with a celeron? Get a board that can hold DDR400 (PC3200). Abit AI7-GURU SKT 478 can run dual channel DDR400, has SATA, Firewire etc. I'm using it in my Celeron rig atm.

The compaq, 256mb RAM? come on if its on WinXP and you try doing large scale photoshop work its going to die

Basically, get into building your own systems and dont be afraid to ask for help choosing parts
Durinthiam is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 04:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

If i were you i would go with amd,I used to have an older 2.4ghz Celeron and it's total crap compared to my 2600+ Sempron,With the Celeron it used to take me about 4 or 5 hour's to convert a 700mb avi file to dvd With the Sempron i can convert it in about 1 & 1/2 hour's now
Shumway is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 05:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 27
Default

Thanks Durinthiam, usually I buy the parts I want and I have a techie friend build the computer for me. I just wanted a simple, pre-fab machine that I could occassionally use. I'm mostly wondering about the processor, cache and bus speed. Wondering which system will move faster.

If I use Photoshop on the new PC, I definitely would up the RAM.
Based on Shumway's comments, though, it might be better to go with the AMD Sempron.

Any other feedback from anyone?
stardanz1
stardanz1 is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 01:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

the amd cpu is faster it is not all about clock speed.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 04:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Durinthiam
Dont get a HP or a Compaq :P
Get the parts and build one yourself, you end up with a better rig. The HP rig looks like they are back using Traijen motherboards, using PC2700 (DDR333) with a celeron? Get a board that can hold DDR400 (PC3200). Abit AI7-GURU SKT 478 can run dual channel DDR400, has SATA, Firewire etc. I'm using it in my Celeron rig atm.

The compaq, 256mb RAM? come on if its on WinXP and you try doing large scale photoshop work its going to die

Basically, get into building your own systems and dont be afraid to ask for help choosing parts

Signature Rules
Lines: The maximum number of lines is 15 using text size=1. The maxium is 8 lines or less using a bigger font and text size, and with a graphic


http://www.techist.com/announcement.php?forumid=4
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 07:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

If you must choose between the two computers, get the sempron.
you can always upgrade your ram if it is running to slow for you.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 07:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Semperon for sure...cheaper and 2 times the cache size!
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 10:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default

I'm an AMDer myself, but I'de hate to admit, the Celeron 340 (prescott) will kill the Sempron 3000 (barton) in almost everything except gaming (where they are even). See for yourself:
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu...y/sempron.html

The Sempron 3000+ trailed behind the Celeron 340 in performance. But the Celeron 340 trails behind the Sempron 3000+ in most cases when it comes to price.

If they are both the same price, I would get the HP.
__________________

__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.