AMD RADEON HD 7990 vs i7 870 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2013, 08:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: uk
Posts: 4
Default AMD RADEON HD 7990 vs i7 870

Hi All

I've recently installed the Radeon HD 7990 and fired up Far Cry 3 on Steam to try it out.

During play I get a lot of frame-rate stuttering, even on the lowest quality settings. Could this be because of my (not overclocked) i7 870 bottlenecking?

I'm playing on Windows 7 64 bit, and have 8gb of RAM.

If it is my i7 as I suspect, which processor do you recommend for high-end gaming and applications that use a lot of processor power, (eg, music production software).

Cheers, Paul.
__________________

pernice_brother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 12:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: AMD RADEON HD 7990 vs i7 870

First, I recommend using the 13.8 V2 drivers. Secondly, any Crossfire solution is going to have micro-stuttering. It's what AMD cards are known for apart from frame latency, which the 13.8 drivers have cleaned up quite a bit.

Next, the easiest way to tell if the card is being bottlenecked is monitor GPU usage with MSI-Afterburner. If the first GPU is at 99% (or slightly below) and the second GPU is barely being used, that's just the game/drivers not utilizing your second GPU properly. If both are being used equally and they are around 70% or lower then that would be your CPU holding your GPU back.

If it is, a 4670k would be a huge upgrade over your current i7.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 02:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: uk
Posts: 4
Default Re: AMD RADEON HD 7990 vs i7 870

Thanks. The game is only using one of the GPUs but I cannot find a way to enable both of them anywhere within 13.8. All I can see, under 'Gaming' and then '3D application settings' is 'AMD Crossfire - Frame pacing ON'.

I monitored the GPUs in Skyrim and the same problem occurred - only one GPU being used.

Any ideas? All help much appreciated.
pernice_brother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 03:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: AMD RADEON HD 7990 vs i7 870

Frame Pacing is what greatly reduces the frame latency resulting in smoother frames.

The only thing I can suggest is look hard for a Crossfire enable option. I know the 13.8 V2 driver set does CFX on FC3 and TR specifically.

Edit: Did you use the deleter utility (or driver sweeper) to completely take out the old driver first?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.