AMD Radeon 6670 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2011, 01:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default AMD Radeon 6670

So i have a Gigabyte ddr3 amd radeon 6670 and a 500 watt power supply. In the future if i want to upgrade would it be wise to buy another 6670 and run crossfire or just buy an AMD Radeon 6850.
__________________

Talyor is offline  
Old 12-24-2011, 02:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: AMD Radeon 6670

I think a 6850 would be more powerful than 2 x 6670 Xfired.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-24-2011, 02:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: AMD Radeon 6670

But would the 500 watt no name brand support the amd radeon 6850?
Talyor is offline  
Old 12-24-2011, 02:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: AMD Radeon 6670

The 6850 needs ~300W on full load.

I wouldn't put that card on an untrusted PSU.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 10:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: AMD Radeon 6670

I second what MindoverMaster said. I would upgrade the card all together, BUT I would also upgrade the psu. If you don't trust your power supply it could fry a bunch of stuff. Better to be safe than sorry.

I was actually thinking about buying the 6670. I've heard some pretty decent reviews about it for the price and, not to get the thread derailed here, but what is your opinion on it? Is it a good card? How high of settings can you play on certain games? Thanks if you do decide to answer
LargeAndInCharge is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 10:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: AMD Radeon 6670

Well i have Gigabyte ddr3 so its not gonna be as good as a gddr5 6670 but i can play most modern games on medium-high settings. Battlefield 3 i can play on medium with 20-30 FPS. I just wanna upgrade the card since i got some christmas money.
__________________

Talyor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD's ATI Radeon HD 5830 Eval Osiris New Technology and Products 2 02-26-2010 12:30 AM
AMD ATI Radeon Tray Tool Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 1 01-07-2010 08:11 PM
AMD Radeon HD 5870 X2 Pictures Osiris New Technology and Products 9 11-02-2009 01:36 AM
ATI/AMD Radeon HD 2900 XT benchmarks Waphlez New Systems | Building and Buying 35 04-26-2007 06:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.