AMD Processors? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2005, 03:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 96
Default AMD Processors?

Hey,

Another question regarding processors. I was looking at:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...?EdpNo=1476679

I'm used to Pentium processors. In the spec, it says:
Processor speed: 64 4200+ / 2.20GHz

Now, what's the significance behind 4200+ / 2.20GHz.

I must be missing something here... is the speed 2.20GHz? I'm guessing the 4200+ means something.

Just because, I have a 3 yr old CPU that's an Pentium 4, 2.4 GHz.

Is this processor I"m looking at alot better than my P4 2.4 GHz
__________________

billru44 is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 03:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

The proc runs at a clockspeed of 2.2Ghz, but that doesn't mean much these days. The 4200+ signifies that it is as fast as a Pentium 4 4.2ghz, give or take some.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 05:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to ChrisX
Default

yea any cpu w/ a dual core is oing to be fast regardless of the Ghz
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black
Radeon HD 5770
Asus M4A79XTD EVO
4GB DDR3 1600
1 WD 230GB, 2 WD Cavier 80GB
OCZ 600W PSU
DVD, DVD-RW, BD-ROM
ChrisX is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 05:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

AMD are different to Intel when it comes to clockspeed, AMD have a lower clockspeed because it processes more data per clock.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @2.4Ghz
Asrock ConroeXFire-eSATA2
Connect 3d X1800XT 256mb
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667Mhz
Belinea 19\" Widescreen LCD
Antec Super Lanboy
Seasonic ATX v2 430W
weringo is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 10:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

as far as i know the 4200+ is an x2 so that is a NICE processor. like the others said yes it is 2.2ghz but amd cpu's do not require high frequencies like intel's to be effective
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 11:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default

There is an equation out there that calculates the actual frequency from the + number and the bus speed. It doesn't work for multicore processors though.
__________________

shdwsclan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.