AMD To Intel Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2012, 10:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default AMD To Intel Upgrade

Current System:
AMD FX-Series FX-4100(3.6GHz) Current Build
8GB DDR3 500GB HDD Capacity
AMD Radeon HD 6670 1GB DDR3
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit
700W OCZ MODXSTREAM
Hyper 212+
-------------------------------------
CPUS
Newegg.com - Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000 BX80637I73770K
or
Newegg.com - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000 BX80637I53570K
or
Newegg.com - AMD FX-8150 Zambezi 3.6GHz Socket AM3+ 125W Eight-Core Desktop Processor FD8150FRGUBOX
-------------------------------------
Z77 Motherboard
Newegg.com - ASRock Z77 Performance LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
or
Newegg.com - ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3 LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
-------------------------------------
AMD GPUS
AMD Radeon 7850 for 178$!!!!!
Newegg.com - ASUS HD7850-DC2-2GD5 Radeon HD 7850 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
or
Newegg.com - HIS iCooler H777F1G2M Radeon HD 7770 GHz Edition 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card 2x 7770s
----------------
NVIDIA GPUS
GTX 660 Newegg.com - EVGA SuperClocked 02G-P4-2662-KR GeForce GTX 660 2GB 192-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
or
GTX 660 Ti Newegg.com - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB 192-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
---------------------

I need a system thats pretty quiet and not loud, I play runescape,wot,mechwarrior online and need a computer that can run alot of applications of runescape

What is your guys opinouns of the cards,cpus i picked out. Im on a budget of 620$ for all 3, Im thinking of getting an i7 3770k and use the 6670 until november I can buy a good GPU
__________________

Talyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 11:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: AMD To Intel Upgrade

I can't imagine you'd need really beefy GPUs for Runescape, even multiple instances.

Out of the video cards you have there though, I would get the 7850. Based on benchmarks, it seems to be niched right in between some nVidia cards price-wise, and that 660 Ti is mucho more expensive for the minimal increase you'll see playing online games.

As far as processors, Intel will outperform AMD, but at a premium price. Based on what you want to do, I'd say go with whichever one your wallet feels okay dealing with, since both will be perfectly fine.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 11:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default Re: AMD To Intel Upgrade

Mechwarrior Online uses the Cryengine. He needs something beefy for that. Also, the 3570k (or hell, even the 3330) is almost the same price as the 8150 and the newer 8350 will be over 200 bucks MSRP. No point to go AMD anymore.

IMO, i5 3330 and a 660ti. You don't need an i7, and you don't need a K CPU if you don't OC. For the board, ASRock Z77.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 11:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: AMD To Intel Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Mechwarrior Online uses the Cryengine. He needs something beefy for that. Also, the 3570k (or hell, even the 3330) is almost the same price as the 8150 and the newer 8350 will be over 200 bucks MSRP. No point to go AMD anymore.

IMO, i5 3330 and a 660ti. You don't need an i7, and you don't need a K CPU if you don't OC. For the board, ASRock Z77.
Didn't know that about Mechwarrior, fair enough. Figured the $280 GPU might have been a bit much until you said that.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 11:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default Re: AMD To Intel Upgrade

Honestly, he could easily use the 660 on it too to be fair. It's just in my experience you need more GPU than CPU these days. Having something with very quick single threaded performance will do the trick like SB or IB.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 12:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: AMD To Intel Upgrade

If I'm running a lot of apps what would be better i7 or the i5, also I'm gonna be only running 1 display so I think radeon 7850 will be good. Is it possible for a 40 inch led TV and 22 inch monitor for eye infinity? So I could play bf3 on tv and other apps on Monitor
Talyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 12:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 79
Send a message via Skype™ to ImTorey
Default Re: AMD To Intel Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talyor View Post
If I'm running a lot of apps what would be better i7 or the i5, also I'm gonna be only running 1 display so I think radeon 7850 will be good. Is it possible for a 40 inch led TV and 22 inch monitor for eye infinity? So I could play bf3 on tv and other apps on Monitor
If im not mistaken Eyefinity is like Nvdia Surround which is a 3 monitor setup. Using dual monitors is just having a video card capable. Just about any card can do that these days. eyefinity/nvdia surround is usually to my knowledge when someone plays a game that takes up all 3 screens and the center monitor is where your crosshairs would be. Your just talking about dual monitors.

Can be more then 3 monitors also.

You can enable dual monitors just through windows itself if you'd like there are better programs to manage it though. In windows you pick which monitor you want to be your mjain and then wheneve ryou start a game it will start on that monitor and that is the one your start menu is also located on. kind of inconvenient for doing what your thining.
Also if its just a TV it doesn't matter the size really it will only be 1080P screen size doesn't effect performance. As in inches of the tv.
ImTorey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 12:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: AMD To Intel Upgrade

Awesome would VGA to dvi be fine or would HDMI to HDMI have better picture
Talyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 12:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default Re: AMD To Intel Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talyor View Post
If I'm running a lot of apps what would be better i7 or the i5, also I'm gonna be only running 1 display so I think radeon 7850 will be good. Is it possible for a 40 inch led TV and 22 inch monitor for eye infinity? So I could play bf3 on tv and other apps on Monitor
Both are quad core, so wont really make a difference in games at all. The more apps you run hogs more RAM than actual CPU.
Just because it's one display doesn't mean res and settings wont bog down a GPU. The 660 is the better bet by far, especially for BF3.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talyor View Post
Awesome would VGA to dvi be fine or would HDMI to HDMI have better picture
HDMI is a digital picture so it would look better, but HDMI has input lag.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 12:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: AMD To Intel Upgrade

God this is such a hard decesion between gtx 660 ti and the 7850 only considering because found 660ti for 280 then free borderlands 2 with it so it would be same price as 660, would the 660ti be louder then 7850
__________________

Talyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade Dino AMD or Build New Intel? Khronik New Systems | Building and Buying 6 03-13-2012 12:38 AM
Intel, AMD Settle Antitrust Disputes, Intel to Pay AMD $1.25 Billion Wildside Polls 31 11-21-2009 01:59 AM
Few options for upgrade... stay with AMD? Switch to Intel? M4A1 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-10-2009 12:07 AM
Intel lawsuit from AMD pushed to 2010, Intel Monopoly! Wildside Polls 30 06-24-2008 05:28 PM
Upgrade from Intel to AMD issue. ksheeran New Systems | Building and Buying 7 09-06-2006 11:46 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.