amd of intel.....please help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2006, 12:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Question amd of intel.....please help

im currently running a socket 478 intel pentium 4 @ 2.00 Ghz and im pleased. Im looking at some new motherbords and cpus. i dono if i should go with amd or intel...

im looking at the intel dual core pentium 4 or the pentium d

the amd im looking at is a dual core anthion.

im more of a multi tasker them gameing. id rather run a virus scan and spyware scan wile downloading and searching the web rather then play a huge game. i do play little games tho such as warcraft 3. i also edit my bands songs on it and may use it for samples soon as well.

Intel Or Amd? what single proccesor do u recomend?



Other Systen info:
- dvd + dvd lightscribe
-1.5 gb's of DDR RAMM
-I have a GeForce fx 5500 250 mb graphic.
-40 gb ide drive and 250gb sata (main drive)


PLEASE HELP!
__________________

oxidation1 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 12:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default

oh 1 more thing... im not to consernd with heat. i have a apple G5 knock of case by cogen. its gto the legs holding it of the ground and has holes on the top and sides for air. the case itself also has a cpu heat scoop and a fan in the front and back as well as the side the motherboard and proccecors onand 1 on the top. then theres the proccesor fan witch i will upgrade with the procceccor
__________________

oxidation1 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 01:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

AMD is and has been the bang for the buck company for a long time. Just buy the best processor you can afford.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 01:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default

ya, i guess. im just not happy with my freands 2 ghz athlon. i mean it is in a compaqe but idk. theres somethign about them i sdont like.
oxidation1 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 02:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

The processors do the same job. They have equal quality. Almost 100% of the processors work flawlessly when bought new. I've never encountered a 'fritzy' processor. AMD always tends towards better gaming performance and equal to near equal application performance. That's because they tend to be modest with thier processor rating. Remember, a 2.0ghz Athlon can do the same work as a 3.2ghz P4 or 3.7 ghz P4.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 02:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

hrmm well since ur not playing games i say u go for the p4, they use thsoe at my school and at my work, and they work flawlessly with applications like photoshop, my work computer takes alot of multitasking stress and a 3.0ghz p4 seems to run just fine.. unlike my amd 3500..... don't get me wrong, i love my processor, but it just doesnt do me as well when multitasking as i had hoped for
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 02:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

If your going to multi task, I strongly recommend an Intel CPU, even though they are a bit pricey.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 02:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

since you are multitasking, go for the Pentium D. people here would actually recommend the Athlon X2's cuz they're the best processor on the market and has better multitasking capabilities but just got for the Pentium D. people with athlon processors are usually gamers

as for single processor, go for the P4 with hyper-threading
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 02:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

>_>

Linky
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.