Amd or Intel dual core? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2007, 04:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 186
Default Amd or Intel dual core?

Im planning on getting a computer with a dual core processor, now this computer is going to be used for 90% gaming, so which would be my best bet, intel or Amd? thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c13/yours--only/fwfsfsdf.png\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>

Wolfenstein Enemy territory id:
|EtO|Notor!ous

Steam id:
Notoriou5

Star Craft id:
Notoriou5
N0toriou5 is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: Amd or Intel dual core?

If you have the money and are going to overclock, get a Core 2 Duo. If you're on a tight budget, get an AMD 3600+ Brisbane. If you're not overclocking and you're not on a tight budget, either will do.
__________________

mrfluffles is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 05:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Amd or Intel dual core?

What is the budget? Also are you overclocking? If you are gaming then I suggest overclocking a C2D as they are very fast right now and when overclocked no AMD can compete with them.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 06:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Amd or Intel dual core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfluffles View Post
If you have the money and are going to overclock, get a Core 2 Duo. If you're on a tight budget, get an AMD 3600+ Brisbane. If you're not overclocking and you're not on a tight budget, either will do.
+1...
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 11:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 186
Default Re: Amd or Intel dual core?

for the entire computer (just tower) im looking to spend $800 cdn, and i won't be overclocking.
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c13/yours--only/fwfsfsdf.png\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>

Wolfenstein Enemy territory id:
|EtO|Notor!ous

Steam id:
Notoriou5

Star Craft id:
Notoriou5
N0toriou5 is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 12:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Amd or Intel dual core?

overclocking is completely safe..it is stupid right now not to OC as the new chips overclock like crazy.

If you overclock it really doesn't matter as they are priced the same. I would go AMD just becuase they are better for the money,

However my E6300 is overclocked to 3.22ghz which is only DECENT and it beats the QX6800 $1000 core. There really is no excuse to use "it's not safe" anymore unless you are just lazy. Just go either way..
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 01:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Amd or Intel dual core?

I am not sure about the Canadian conversion, but you might want to look into a low-end Intel Core2 processor. With a good aftermarket cooler, you can save hundreds of dollars (or whatever) by clocking the lowest speed C2D to be as fast as the higher end ones.

If you absolutly can't get an Intel Core 2 CPU, then go with an AMD CPU.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 02:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Amd or Intel dual core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by N0toriou5 View Post
for the entire computer (just tower) im looking to spend $800 cdn, and i won't be overclocking.
its do-able. i got my intel C2D for $813 CAN including tax.

and after 2 months of saving up, i got myself a eVGA 7600GT
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 03:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 186
Default Re: Amd or Intel dual core?

these are the computers i was looking at. any feedback?
http://www.bestbuy.ca/catalog/prodde...gon=&langid=EN
http://www.bestbuy.ca/catalog/prodde...67&catid=20217
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c13/yours--only/fwfsfsdf.png\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>

Wolfenstein Enemy territory id:
|EtO|Notor!ous

Steam id:
Notoriou5

Star Craft id:
Notoriou5
N0toriou5 is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 03:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Amd or Intel dual core?

wow too lazy build? i suggest these then :
Canada Computers - : Core 2 Duo Performer.
Canada Computers - Computer Systems > Ready to Go Systems : Pro Gamer AMD64 X2 3800+ Dual Core nVidia Geforce 7600GT Ready To Go System.

really just upgrades from ur's but with better video cards
__________________

darksideleader is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual core vs SLI in gaming laptop brother2angel New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-11-2007 07:41 PM
Intel's New Glory CPU: Core 2 Extreme Edition QX6800 veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-09-2007 04:38 PM
Vista & Dual Core CPU Problem Alvin.C Microsoft Windows and Software 7 04-08-2007 07:45 AM
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 2.13 Ghz running at 22c Nechen New Systems | Building and Buying 17 04-06-2007 12:58 PM
Core 2 Duo (Dual Core Settings) Nechen New Systems | Building and Buying 0 04-06-2007 11:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.