AMD or Intel - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2006, 12:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default AMD or Intel

I have been researching for my new build and have been planning on AMD. Mostly because It's what I have now Athlon 800 (old) and I like it. But I know nothing else.

BUT, I am not a gamer.

Would you techs here at the forum still use AMD even if you were not gaming?

Or are most AMD users using it for other reasons as well?

I am looking at getting the Athlon64-3700 San Diego 939
But want to be sure that I should not be thinking about a P4???

I do alot of everthing (video,photos,music,browsing,word etc.)
but no gaming.

Temperature and noise are also high concerns. If that may make a difference.

Thanks
__________________

cliffhucker is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 12:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

Well if you're concern is heat and noise, id go with the AMD. AMD's tend to run cooler. I mean my dual core 3800 thats OC'ed at 2.5 is running at no more then 43C under full load and 29-31 on idle. But thats with an aftermarket cooler.

Intels, as far as I know, are good for video encoding and whatnot. But if you dont wanna spend alot, want a good solid CPU that runs cool, ge the AMD.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 12:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to wxt38
Default

AMD is better than Intel in most areas. since you're doing alot of application type of things get a x2 proc.
wxt38 is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 12:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default AMD or Intel

TheOtis,

That what I wanted to hear!

I have heard that AMD typically runs cooler. But have also heard it the other way (tho not as prevalent)

Solid and Cool is where I am at and I figure going with 3700-SD 939 and a ton of RAM, I'll be way faster than I am now!?

I am just trying to find a decent mobo that is 939, can support dual core later (when more affordable) and has onboard video.

There does not seem to be much out there (at least with good reviews) I am looking at this one but not liking some of the reviews??

http://www.newegg.com/Product/CustRa...gesize=&Page=2

I wonder if I should get a MOBO without onboard video and get a card? More $, More Power, More heat????
But more choices in good MOBO's??

Thanks all
cliffhucker is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 02:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

if you are WATCHING videos, and VIEWING pictures, onboard video would have you covered.... if you are into digital editing, you may want to spend the extra dollars for an expansion card.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 02:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default AMD MOBO

Ethereal_Dragon,

That seems to be the consensus; however I cannot find a decent mobo with onboard that is socket 939 and can eventually supoport dual-core.

I am willing to go with a board that needs a video card. That way I have Svideo and Dvi.

My only concern is, ?? Will it mean more needed power, and heat created, and noiser from needed fans ??

If so, I will settle for onboard video mobo.

thanks
cliffhucker is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 08:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

here are 54 Mobo's that are Socket 939 that SHOULD work with dual core AMD's.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2&Order=priceD

Yes, adding an expansion video card WILL add heat. The heat sink & fan combo on that card will reduce the heat though. There are some cards that you can remove the heat sink & fan and put a Larger FANLESS heatsink on it making it passivly cooled. I have never experiented with this though, so I can't suggest any card you can do this with.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 09:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

unless you have a small case heat normally isn't an issue unless you have something extreme in your setup
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 10:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default AMD build

Thanks Ethereal_Dragon & nitestick for ur replies.

Yes I am very aware of the 54 mobos available. I suppose I need to go through the specs of each one to find the ones with onboard video!

So if I need not be concwerned with the heat of an expansion video card (if that is the way I go) then what about the noise?
Are some quieter than others?

And, would having a card help my processors speed since the card would have its own memory? Would it make my system any faster?

Thanks
cliffhucker is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 10:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

I wouldn'e exactly say it'd help your CPU's speed. You'll noticed the difference between having a newer video good and an older video card when it comes to in games and video editing editing and so on, you're going to want to get a video card. I really wouldn't worry about getting a video card and having a heat issue. Now granited, I am running alot of funs and have a very well flowing case. But my case has two hard drives, one of which is a raptor, an OC'd proc and video card, and my system idles at 33 C.

When it comes to noise, if you had a good enough flowing case (which would involved some fans that would make a little noise), and you won't be OC'ing, or haveing the CPU under heavy load for a good amount of time, you could go passive cooling. That just means running a CPU heatsink without a fan, and have your northbridge have the same thing. Plus im sure you can even get a passive cooler heatsink for a video card, although they dont give off much noise, its not silent.

Oh and if you ran a video game, and had on board video, it uses your systems memory, so it isn't nearly as good as owning an actual video card. So I guess if you wre to ask " would I benefit more from having a video card instead of on-board video for games", then yes.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.