amd or intel? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2007, 12:30 PM   #21 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: amd or intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
I didn't say that I disagree or agree... Just read my post again
i didnt say you agree or disagree either, i said you may disagree



Quote:
Did I prevent you from expressing your opinion ? No

Just reread my post above, I was only correcting your mistake about "1/3 the price" thing
yeah but you do it with malice and ridicule, which is uneccesary. i dont mind being corrected.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 04:34 AM   #22 (permalink)
Org
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 138
Default Re: amd or intel?

Think I'm going get a AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+.
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+(65W) Windsor 2.2GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor - Retail

and maybe the ram/mb combo deal that comes with it.
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
-ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB (2 x 2GB) 1600
GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P 790X Motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 4850 1GB GDDR3
Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Antec Three Hundred Black Tower
Org is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 03:55 PM   #23 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: amd or intel?

if you are going to overclock, consider getting an x2 3600.
it will likely do much better. i have them both. although my winnie 4200 is the 89w version. the 65w version you have linked is still a 90nm cpu, it is just energy efficient (which may limit your overclocks even further...not a lot of data on that).
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which CPU between intel and amd? Codeguru New Systems | Building and Buying 27 05-30-2007 09:06 AM
Intel FUD versus AMD fact Trotter Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 12 05-21-2007 12:19 PM
New Hardware (8900GTX/New Intel CPUs) Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-04-2007 08:23 AM
Intel will lower the Q6600 Power Consumption on 16th of July maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-01-2007 08:38 AM
Overclocking An Intel 810? techsquad Overclocking and Modding 5 04-19-2007 09:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.