AMD or Intel - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2006, 01:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default AMD or Intel

Which of these processor and motherboard bundles is the better deal. I am not sure but I know that they are both pretty good.

1, AMD Athlon64 3800+ - 939Pin and nVIDIA GeForce 6100 + 410 MCP 800Mhz FSB 99.99 pounds

or

2, INTEL Pentium D 64Bit ''DUAL CORE X2''Dual Core 5.6Ghz and VIA P4M800 PRO Chipset 1066Mhz FSB 109.99 pounds

Thanks
__________________

pjlyle is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 02:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

Where are you buying from?
Do you have any more detailed specs about the mobo's , if so post it.
On the info you've given i would go for the 3800+.
__________________

__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 02:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default

The deals only include the processor and motherboard.

nVidia Geforce 6100 Chipset - 800Mhz FSB - Supports DDR400 RAM
- LAN Conection - 2 PCI Slots - 6 USB2.0 Ports (2 Front)
- IDE & SATA Support - 16X PCI-Express Slot - 6 Channel Sound Output (5.1)

VIA P4M800 PRO Chipset
Latest LGA775 Design - 1066Mhz FSB - Supports DDR1 400 RAM & DDR2 533 RAM
- LAN Conection - 3 PCI Slots - 6 USB2.0 Ports (2 Front)
- IDE & SATA Support - 8X AGP Slot - 6 Channel Sound Output (5.1)
pjlyle is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 02:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default

I am getting them through a deal with http://palicomp.co.uk/.
pjlyle is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 02:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

with those specs of the motherboards defenetly get the AMD one.
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 06:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

See if you can find an AMD deal with a dual-core CPU.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 08:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

WTF? Intel made a 5.6Ghz Pentium D??
The General is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 08:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I'm surpsrised at you General! It's a 2.8GHz Pentium D. They just say it's 5.6GHz to make it look better.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.