AMD Dual Core 939 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2006, 09:27 AM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Just to balance this out, the guy who knows what he's talking about is Nitestick. I won't echo him, but as another person that's done a lot of reading, the 3800+ and 4400+ are the only ones worth buying. Why pay AMD a bunch of money for a 200mhz overclock? You should buy stock with the money you saved.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 09:42 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Nitestick is right, listen to what he says. If you can afford it get the 4400+ this can be overclocked to the same as the 4800+ and will save you over £70 (UK) The only thing is you wont be able to buy from newegg.com because you are in ireland and they dont ship. I dont know any websites for ireland so cant help you on where to buy from.

Oh btw is that ram you bought new?? if it is then you should have checked that it would be compatible because now you wont be able to use any of it.
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 09:48 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

just sell the ram. don't buy 4gb of DDR buy 2gb and try and get some good overclocking stuff like OCZ Gold. i won't go into the technical side of things all you need to know is you won't really have an advantage having more than 2gb unless you are running a server.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 10:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Umm yeah the 4400+ is nice I bet ,but i got the 4800+ and I like it but I dont use it for gaming much just for burning-DVD's ,internet,TV Tuner, anyways its my wifes computer.It has awesome performance.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 11:01 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

lol but fr34ky you are apparently the only person on this forum who can really afford pc's like this. the lower clocked versions of the athlon x2's are so easy to overclock to the speeds of their far more expensive brethren that it really is a waste of money if you don't really have the money in the first place.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 09:54 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

Or, like nitestick said its one of the only dual-cores he recommends, u can get an opty 165 and easily OC that baby better than the 4400+ on air coolin. People ussually can get their 165s to 2.8GHz (thats 1Ghz faster than the stock settin!) u can save alot of money on the CPU and invest into something else like better RAM or if u need one a new GPU, HD, or DVD Drive. BUT i HEARD (correct me if i'm wrong) that temp detectin programs dont read the right temp for opterons on s939 boards so u could put the money u save into a front panel screen to detect ur CPU temp.
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 04:59 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

also if you are interested in overclocking don't fall into the trap of thinking that a processor at a higher clock speed will overclock further. without some serious cooling most AMD's max out around 3ghz if you know what you are doing.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 09:01 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Think il stick with 2gb ram then and go with a 4400+, thanks for theinfo
Ryan86 is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 09:40 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

you're welcome. good choice, i would have bought the 4400+ toledo if i could have afforded it. any more questions feel free to post back here, PM me or email me
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 07:26 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

As Nitestick said earlier; that "DDR2 RAM" is not going to to do you any good right now? Now if you are building in a couple of months when the new AMD2 motherboards are out, that is different. Since money is not an object, I would say F60 or X2 4800+.
__________________

__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.