AMD CPUS: Zambesi vs Phenom... vs... baby zambesi - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2011, 03:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Default AMD CPUS: Zambesi vs Phenom... vs... baby zambesi

I'm comparing the zambesi line to the phenom II line of amd processors with a gaming pc in mind. Heres the issue...

Zambesi (bulldozer) processors are typically high # of cores but slower Ghz per core. As I understand it pretty much all games use only 4 cores or less at the moment so wouldn't less cores and more Ghz per core be better? Which brings me to....

Phenom II's are typically 4 cores and very high GHz per core and therefore, by my logic considering core usage of current and near future games, are better at the moment for gaming. HOWEVER, the problem I'm seeing is the Phenom II line runs on the AM3 socket which as I see it now has a limited lifespan. In my mind if I want to build a computer that will continue to only need upgrades for the next "#" of years I would want the AM3+ socket because that should keep upgrading for now or at least the next few years. Which leads me to...

Baby Zambesi, such as the AMD FX-4100 Zambezi has only 4 cores but it runs on the AM3+ socket AND better yet it runs at ~3.6Ghz per core! and 'turbo mode' makes it go up to ~3.8Ghz per core which rivals most Phenom II 4 core speeds. However, the baby dozer has the benefit of running on the AM3+ socket which to me says it has about the same speed as the phenom II but does not make me have to upgrade most of my system when win8 or higher core using games come out and instead will only have to upgrade my cpu.

So the question: are my deductions correct? or is there some key element I'm missing? All of the newegg customer reviews saw the cpu as a good cheap cpu but not at all in the way I have seen it, which leads me to believe i'm missing something. BTW, sry for the text wall

the question is AM I MISSING SOMETHING? (got my post closed by another forum that said i didn't ask a solvable question.... fools)

Note: i'm sticking with amd, so lets please skip that part of the conversation
__________________

TheTwitchizzle is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 03:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: AMD CPUS: Zambesi vs Phenom... vs... baby zambesi

Right now, BD sucks. And they consume more power than the PIIs. Which btw you forgot all the Phenom x6 procesors.
Newegg.com - Computer Hardware, AMD, Processors - Desktops, Phenom II X6

Biggest question is whats your purpose.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 03:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: AMD CPUS: Zambesi vs Phenom... vs... baby zambesi

gaming, as stated. 6 core phenom all well and good but i'm also looking at longevity, so would it not also be beneficial to have that AM3+ socket because its the newest socket and will last longer? possibly with newer cpu lines on the same socket..? And in the meantime a bulldozer thats 4 core but almost as fast as most phenoms?
TheTwitchizzle is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 04:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: AMD CPUS: Zambesi vs Phenom... vs... baby zambesi

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTwitchizzle View Post
the baby dozer has the benefit of running on the AM3+ socket which to me says it has about the same speed as the phenom II but does not make me have to upgrade most of my system when win8 or higher core using games come out and instead will only have to upgrade my cpu.

is there some key element I'm missing?
Considering the research you've done I feel silly putting this out there, but you are aware that PII X4 can run in an AM3+ board as well right?
So you can get a PII X4 or FX-4100 and use the same motherboard for either, and have the same upgrade options later.

I think a big piece of the puzzle is, are you going to overclock?

@ stock, personally would probably go with the FX-4100 for the higher clocks per core.
W/ OC, from what I've been reading I'd probably go with the PII X4 960T; which is essentially a PII X6 with locked cores.


*Edit - So I was mis-reading charts and thought the 960T was OC'd to 3.6, @ stock would take the 960T as well.
Apparently the only gaming comparison that has been made that is available:
960T Vs. FX4100
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 05:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: AMD CPUS: Zambesi vs Phenom... vs... baby zambesi

in response to the last post, i wish i had read it before calling ASUS, but finally came to that realization. Theres so many details out there that I have a difficult time catching all of them, especially considering I only play catchup every 2 years or so. Yes am3+ is backwards compatible, which after having found that out, saves me a lot of pain. Now the question is the "ASUS M5A88-V EVO AM3+ AMD 880G HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard" capable of underclocking 1866 ram to 1333 so i don't have to upgrade ram when i eventually upgrade the cpu
TheTwitchizzle is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 06:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: AMD CPUS: Zambesi vs Phenom... vs... baby zambesi

Your board runs at whatever your ram is. So if you put 2000 in, it'll run at 2000, 1333 and your at 1333.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 06:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: AMD CPUS: Zambesi vs Phenom... vs... baby zambesi

once again patonb not very thorough or helpful. While the computer may try to run at whatever speed the ram is the CPU can only handle so much of 'each' speed. For instance the Zambesi product line can only handle 2 sticks of 1866, while the phenom II line is based on 1333 ram. Some boards can underclock ram for this purpose. Thanks anyway though.
TheTwitchizzle is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 06:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Default

You're looking to much at clock speeds, currently a lower clocked Phenom will outperform a higher clocked Zambezi.

Right now bulldozer is in a bad place, when compared to Phenom 2 much less Intel. The only advantage to bulldozer is they seem to overclock very well.
Shaynk is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 07:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: AMD CPUS: Zambesi vs Phenom... vs... baby zambesi

The ASUS M5A88-V EVO AM3+ board will run RAM up through 2000 if you set it in the BIOS. patonb is correct, technically.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 07:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: AMD CPUS: Zambesi vs Phenom... vs... baby zambesi

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTwitchizzle View Post
capable of underclocking 1866 ram to 1333 so i don't have to upgrade ram when i eventually upgrade the cpu
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTwitchizzle View Post
For instance the Zambesi product line can only handle 2 sticks of 1866, while the phenom II line is based on 1333 ram. Some boards can underclock ram for this purpose. Thanks anyway though.
I think your confused about how all of this stuff works. My CPU is rated for 1333MHz memory but it will still run memory rated for a much higher speed. I've ran 2133MHz memory with no problems. And I can also run my memory at lower speeds, 1066MHz is as slow as it will go.

And the Zambesi product line has a dual channel memory controller. This means it's designed to use memory two sticks at a time, if the motherboard has four memory slots it can use all four.

All in all if I was choosing from the AMD product lineup I would go with the fastest PII X4 I could afford.

If you can swing it the Intel i5 2500K is more cash but it's a much better cpu than anything AMD has.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Introduces Sub-$100 AMD Phenom II Processor Osiris New Technology and Products 1 01-25-2010 11:05 AM
Does any AMD motherboard allow 2 Phenom cpus to be installed together? blue-lynx New Systems | Building and Buying 20 04-21-2008 08:05 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
AMD Rumoured to Unveil AMD Phenom X3 with Three Cores maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-22-2007 12:25 AM
New AMD CPUs viperman5000 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 08-13-2006 09:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.